Thread: ECS K7S5A PCI configuration

ECS K7S5A PCI configuration

I have been using a new ECS K7S5A main board for two months and I was fairly satisfied with it. I had some initial misgiving but I stayed with it.
    1. Although it has on-board sound it seems to not have any kind of DOS Sound-Blaster emulation for older games like Duke Nukem.
    For this reason I stuck in my Turtle Beach Allegro sound card.
    2. I just put in an Adaptec AHA2940 SCSI host adapter to drive an HP C5100A photo scanner. I can not get the board to distribute IRQs properly to get all PCI devicecs to work at the same time.

Here are the wierd things the board does with PCI:
    A. There is no way to designate IRQs for legacy applications.
    B. It does not like to reassign IRQs 3 and 4 if the COM ports are disabled.
    C. It likes to assign all the PCI devices to one or two IRQs.
    D. It is impossible to assign IRQs manually.

I hear ya.
    I hated the way that board managed IRQs. I sent mine back and got a K7VZA (even though it doesn't support DDR) and have been happy ever since.

Sorry that's not much help.

My K7S5A is now working in a more or less satisfactory manner. I had to reload some of the drivers that became corrupted somewhere along the way as the result of a bit too much thrashing on my part. I still cannot run DOS legacy Sound Blaster stuff fom a DOS box. I have to run in DOS mode. My next move will be to DDR memory.

I'm gonna be setting up a box in a few hours with this motherboard. I'll be running some flavor of Linux. Hopefully I don't have the problems you've had. :-/
    This will all be over before you can say Cat in a Hat.

More "news" on the K7S5A. I tried to update the BIOS to latest level and NONE of the flash programs would work at all. I think I will avoid Elite Computer Systems in the future.