Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CMOS will not hold bios setings

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    4

    CMOS will not hold bios setings

    I have a M810 motherboard wil SIS730 chipset that will not hold bios settings when system is unplugged. As long as the power cord is to system the bios is ok. I have replaced the CMOS battery but get same low battery message each time.

  2. #2
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Change the battery again.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    4
    Took battery from working system and tried plus brand new on and still same results

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Wisconsin, U S A
    Posts
    666
    Possible causes:
    battery contacts corroded
    battery contacts loose

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    4
    Cleaned contacts and made sure they were making contact and not bent still same results

  6. #6
    Member wallie_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Central Calif. USA
    Posts
    444

    CMOS

    When you replaced the battery you should expect a need for your settings to be reconfigured in the BIOS. Did you check to see if the jumper that controls the 'Clear CMOS' is set correctly? Also, check to see if the jumper does not have a corrosion or other problem. Did you flash the BIOS recenty? If you tried the latter with a weak battery you can get flash errors that will show up similar to the errors you described. You may need to reflash the BIOS with a strong battery. Anyway, why do you need to unplug your computer? I wouldn't mess with it too much if it runs fine otherwise.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    4
    I reflashed bios, check contacts, replaced battery, but still won't hold settings. I am trying to sell motherboard and don't want to pass on problem.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    apache junction, az
    Posts
    47
    I also have this problem with my ECS K7S5A. This is a widely reported problem on the OC Workbench forums. My guess is that it is related to leaky electrolytic capacitors in the CMOS chip circuitry. Only a guess. I use the MB Probe monitor, and it frequently reports the CMOS batt @ 2.0Volts. Getting in alot of practice in setting up the bios settings...Regards,
    "Any tool can be used as a hammer"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •