Thread: Normal Boot Failure AHHHHH!

Normal Boot Failure AHHHHH!

I'm getting some weird voodoo when I start my Athlon 1.2 w/256 PC 2100 on an A7A266 board. This is my first build and I think I screwed up the OS install, WinME. When I start up (standard normal mode) I get the dreaded blue-screen error:
    An exception OE has occured at 0028:FF05A3BB in VxD---
    This was called from 0028:C14D43C3 in VxD---

It gives me the option to continue, but I run into a Windows Protection Error. This is all solved by starting up in Logged mode for some reason. However, Explorer.exe starts causing all kinds of havoc causing errors all over the place. I haven't screwed with the registry at all and I'm completely lost. PLEASE HELP ME!

EX Moderator-May He Rest in Peace rangeral's Avatar
    Try the system restore feature in accessories system tools I believe and pick a date on the way back machine prior to your problem see if that straightens it out.

Eh well...

This is the way it's been forever, I'm just scared I have to reformat and pray I don't screw it up again. Thanks for the idea though.

I have found that if you have the load video to memory or video shadowing in bios enabled before you install proper drivers for video card most especially AGP it will create havoc on first install. Just a thought.

Zarky

Zarky

Zarky,
    Could you read my post in the Tech Support forum title 'Faulty Processor?'. Do you think I should disable my video BIOS shadowing option? I haven't tried that yet.

-Brian

Never had a problem installing any OS with the AGP video bios shadow enabled on any of my systems.

A vxd is a virtual driver.

A vxd error is usually caused by an improper hardware driver install. Switching the modem or netcard to a different PCI without first uninstalling the software and drivers will cause this.
    Some virus scan programs will cause this. Especially McAfee on WinME without installing the upgrade version.