Thread: linux question...cable modem setup

Hybrid View

linux question...cable modem setup

Has anyone had a problem getting a cable modem to work on Linux (Mandrake 7.2) ??

Its set up on a NIC and it refuses to work.

Im a linux newbie, and Im using KDE as a GUI..

Please be gentle thx

So you have an external cable modem connected to your linux comp via a nic? Is there anything between your comp and the modem? How do you get an ip? DHCP? If so, does the cable company have the correct MAC addy for your nic? Did this work previously with a Windows machine or is there another machine on the lan that is a windows machine(since you mentioned being a linux newbie)? Lastly describe your home network and inlude product types, brands, and models, if applicable.

Banti

Middle Age Member
    Does it work on this same machine using Windows? If so, what are the network/ethernet settings in Windows? IP address, subnet mask, and default gateway? Do you need to add a nameserver address?

In Drake 7.2 are you using netconf or DrakConf >Network and Internet configuration? -you may want to give both a try. Do you require a password or proprietary software to connect?

Ok,
    1. this is on a dual boot machine w/Win98se, It works in there..
    2. It is DHCP, dynamic IP assigned by cable co.
    3. External Cable modem (Ericsson) connected to the NIC. No other PC's on it at the moment.
    4. No df gateways, sub mask, or anything..cable co assigns all.
    5. No password to connect, (in windows)
    6. I was using DrakConf...

when booting into Linux is has an error msg saying something to the point that it cannot use the NIC (dhcpcd)

some error when trying to connect (eht0)

trying to go from memory until i get home this evening..

Hello,