Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: PC Won't Boot, ACPI BIOS ERROR

  1. #1
    Senior Member TonyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Lisle, IL
    Posts
    758

    PC Won't Boot, ACPI BIOS ERROR

    My wife's PC won't boot, gets the attached message after about 3 or 4 minutes. I looked at the BIOS and didn't see anything suspicious. Once it also said ACPI BIOS ERROR in the message. I did notice the BIOS said it was last Sunday evening. Thinking the batter was bad I changed it and wondering if that cleared the BIOS because now it just gets a black screen and the monitor does not see an input. I tried a UBCD but it wouldn't boot to that. Everything I read about ACPI indicates troubleshooting from either the BIOS or Window and I cannot get to them.

    It's an old MSI 970A-G43 motherboard, AMD FX-6300, SanDisk SSD, and 16 GIG DDR3.

    Looking for any suggestions for next steps.

    Thanks

    Error.jpg
    Last edited by TonyMan; 10-20-2021 at 11:51 PM. Reason: Adding system specs
    Strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a form of government.

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Largo, FL.
    Posts
    5,239
    I don't see an error in the attachment.

    I'm not sure if I see a hard drive either listed in one of the three SATA ports.
    "Vegetarians live up to nine years longer than the rest of us...Nine horrible, worthless, baconless years."

  3. #3
    Senior Member TonyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Lisle, IL
    Posts
    758
    That error only came up once. This is a pic of the last screen I got.

    There is a SanDisk SSD on SATA 2.
    Strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a form of government.

  4. #4
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Largo, FL.
    Posts
    5,239
    If you can get into the BIOS, make sure the SSD is first in the boot sequence section.

    If that doesn't help, set the CD/DVD drive as first and see if you can boot off the UBCD disc.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,910
    Clean the contacts. helped here endless times. all of them. all you can reach. since sooner or later they must be cleaned anyway. would test with new SSD.
    yes also had to resolder cold soldering points of battery-holder. was on older mainboards with capacitor plague.
    also to consider is having replacement parts. psu, videocard, ram, mainboard. first two i had to change often.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,910
    yes its german following its main content:
    https://www.pcmasters.de/forum/threa...ennoch.130152/

    most probably defective videocard or contacts. check all cables and replace where possible. SSD-cable.
    beeps may tell whats wrong.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,910
    https://forums.tomshardware.com/thre...a-g43.1642675/
    Bad MOBO.
    consider testing with other CPU and replace thermal grease. instructions online.
    how long had it been used, daily? Its from around 2014.
    Last edited by europanorama; 10-24-2021 at 10:26 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,910
    He solved it-see last message: 12v psu plugs reconnected. in my opinion need also be cleaned.
    https://www.pcmasters.de/forum/threa...ennoch.130152/
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  9. #9
    Senior Member TonyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Lisle, IL
    Posts
    758
    Actually, Ive decided to scrap it and build a new system. Neither the board nor the CPU will support Windows 11. I bought a couple of motherboards and CPUs so for once well have the same systems.
    Strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a form of government.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,910
    Best decision. i struggled or investigated deeply the Capacitor-Plague-thing on my two early 2000 motherboards. i dont know if the 2014 Mobos are affected by the same Plague. I was relieved when i decided to stop the investigation soon after my fathers death. Life is too short for uneeded troubles. Win10 and 10s are fine. would not start with win11 now.
    I made the investigations not to repair really but to find out the reasons. the know the mechanism to workaround future problems.
    Last edited by europanorama; 10-25-2021 at 06:19 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •