Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: The 'Off Topic' Forum

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248

    The 'Off Topic' Forum

    I'm having trouble viewing the "Off Topic" forum. I simply can't get there from here. My primary desktop system refuses to recognize that forum. All other forums in the Sysopt group are very assess able. I am having a problem with only the single forum.

    When I'm viewing the list of Sysopt forums and click on the "Off Topic" forum, my system says "No way. I can't get there from here. I don't recognize that url", or something to that affect. The reason is that that forum has been assigned the url of "https://www.www.sysopt.com/forumdisplay.php?21-Off-Topic" on my computer. Notice that "www" is repeated. This is not something I'm entering, but what has been assigned as the url for that forum.

    How do I correct this? Is it a problem on my system, or is it a Sysopt-wide problem?

  2. #2
    Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    61
    I have seen this issue as well. It appears to be intermittent for me. Have you tried a different web browser?

  3. #3
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    What browser and version are you running? Are you using any adblocker addons?

  4. #4
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    What happens when you click on this:
    https://www.sysopt.com/forumdisplay.php?21-Off-Topic
    "Vegetarians live up to nine years longer than the rest of us...Nine horrible, worthless, baconless years."

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    What happens when you click on this:
    https://www.sysopt.com/forumdisplay.php?21-Off-Topic
    I get the same response, "We're having trouble finding that site..."

    I'm running W7, the latest version of Firefox (78.0.2), and uBlock. This is on my primary desktop computer. My laptop, running W8.1, has no problem bringing in the forum. I just tried IE ( a much older version since I never use IE) and had no problem getting on. Firefox is my browser of choice, to the point where I have none other installed other than IE which came with W7.

    And now, when I try to post this answer, I receive an notice, "Bitdefender has blocked this page".

    EDIT: I added the last statement and was able to post my reply.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248
    Dropping the "s" has no effect.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    607
    Hmmm... weird.

    Click Firefox's hamburger menu button (three small stacked horizontal bars near the top right), click "Help", select "Restart with Add-ons Disabled….". When Firefox's Safe Mode dialog pops up, click the "Start in Safe Mode" button. Now see if you can get to https://www.sysopt.com/forumdisplay.php?21-Off-Topic

    If that also doesn't work, what about a shortened bit.ly link? https://bit.ly/2X0Df3e

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248
    Before I try that let me list the few add-ons and extensions I have.

    Extensions: Enabled:
    1)AVAST Online Security ( This is odd since I removed AVAST and installed Bitdefender)
    2)uBlock Origin
    3)YouTube MP4 Downloader (doesn't seem to work, so looking for a better one)

    Plugins: Enabled
    1)Open H264 Video Codec provided by Cisco Systems
    2)Shockwave Flash
    3)Widevine Content Decrytion Module provided by Google.

    Thats it. If any of these should be replaced, or others added, please let me know.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    607
    Starting Firefox in Safe Mode is only temporary. It disables Add-ons and themes.

    Then when finished testing, re-start Firefox as you normally do and everything should be back like you had it.

    More info about it all here on Mozilla: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...ctlocale=en-US

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
    Hmmm... weird.

    Click Firefox's hamburger menu button (three small stacked horizontal bars near the top right), click "Help", select "Restart with Add-ons Disabled….". When Firefox's Safe Mode dialog pops up, click the "Start in Safe Mode" button. Now see if you can get to https://www.sysopt.com/forumdisplay.php?21-Off-Topic

    If that also doesn't work, what about a shortened bit.ly link? https://bit.ly/2X0Df3e

    Neither of these showed any improvement. Each came up with the same response, "We're having trouble finding that site."

    Why does it react to that forum in that way, but none of the other forums in the Sysopt group?

    Occasionally when opening the Sysopt site (sysopt.com) Bitdefender objects, claiming something about encryption security. I have to re-assure it that I want to go there anyway.

  12. #12
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    Use the Quick Navigation tool that is to the lower right and see if it'll take you to the Off Topic section.

  13. #13
    Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    61
    When I try to log in using IE11, it fails and I get a vBulletin Message: Invalid Redirect URL (http://www.sysopt.com/index.php).

    When I right-click on this thread and select Open in a new tab in IE11, the url has the extra www. and of course fails to open.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    248
    The "Quick Navigation" tool doesn't seem to be working for me. I see the words, "Quick Navigation" to the left of "Feedback/Announcements", but it is not a clickable link. My cursor doesn't react when passing over it.

    This morning I had some amount of trouble getting into the site. I typed "sysopt.com" and my computer could not find the server. When I typed "sysopt.com/index.php" I came immediately to the list of forums.

    I posted earlier this morning, about 4am, but don't see that here. That posting simply disappeared into the great void.

    Could this whole problem be relater to Bitdefender? Is that a possibility? Might I have to whitelist this site?

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    607
    Quote Originally Posted by 4breezes View Post
    The "Quick Navigation" tool doesn't seem to be working for me. I see the words, "Quick Navigation" to the left of "Feedback/Announcements", but it is not a clickable link. My cursor doesn't react when passing over it.
    When you move your mouse cursor over the "Feedback/Announcements" portion, it should change color, then you can click it to open a scroll-able pull-down listing all of the forums. Down near the bottom of that list, click the "Off Topic" link.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •