Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 101

Thread: SysOpt - Issues

  1. #76
    Member MarkFink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    66
    right.. didn't notice that. It was generated just by clicking the "proceed to.." button.
    Don't believe everything you think

  2. #77
    Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    61
    I got the extra www. also last night, and every time I deleted it and pressed Enter, it just came back. It is coming from some stored location at this site somewhere.

  3. #78
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    The developers are 99% certain that the issue(s) aren't on the server. Logic kind of dictates that more or all people would have problems.

    They are going to talk to the owners about installing a software on the server that might help.

  4. #79
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    I still keep coming back to the ads. The https link works sometimes, but other times it has the certificate error I posted earlier. Sometimes disabling uBlock and refreshing works, but not always. It's really inconsistent.

  5. #80
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    I used AdBlock PLUS with Chrome.... And switch over to new MS Edge with AdBlock and have yet to have an issue?!?!?

  6. #81
    Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    61
    I am still seeing the intermittent "site cannot be found" error from my work computer. I will have to see if it also happens at home to determine if it is a work only firewall/proxy/DNS issue.

  7. #82
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    609
    Back about 15 days ago I setup an uptime site monitor for SysOpt.com on UptimeRobot.com. It checks to see if SysOpt.com is up every 10 minutes 24/7/365. Here's what it has to say so far:

    SysOpt.com - OK (200) since 2020-07-09 09:28:10 - 364 hrs, 0 mins (100.000% Uptime)

  8. #83
    Member MarkFink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    66
    I still get it at home. If I check this thread say four times a day it's down one out of every 6 tries... last time was yesterday afternoon.
    Don't believe everything you think

  9. #84
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    609
    Strange for sure. I can't even remember the last time I was unable to get to SysOpt.com.

  10. #85
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    Ditto... I have yet to have any problems.

  11. #86
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    I'm still getting the certificate error every so often. I have uBO disabled for Sysopt.com, but I still get the error. Usually, I have to close Firefox completely and then try again. Refreshing the page works sometimes, but it's inconsistent.

    I wonder if it's something with uBO itself? I might have to test with a clean version of Firefox without uBO.

  12. #87
    Member MarkFink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    66
    I wonder if it's something with uBO itself?
    I've tested with my regular, rarely used but up to date Chrome browser that has AdBlockPlus and the same thing happens whether or not it's disabled.
    Don't believe everything you think

  13. #88
    Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    61
    Right now, I can reach this page:

    https://www.sysopt.com/showthread.ph...t-Issues/page6

    But when I try this page:

    https://www.sysopt.com/showthread.ph...m&goto=newpost

    I get the Can't reach this page error:

    The DNS name does not exist.
    Error Code: INET_E_RESOURCE_NOT_FOUND

  14. #89
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    Right now, I can reach this page:

    https://www.sysopt.com/showthread.ph...t-Issues/page6

    But when I try this page:

    https://www.sysopt.com/showthread.ph...m&goto=newpost

    I get the Can't reach this page error:

    The DNS name does not exist.
    Error Code: INET_E_RESOURCE_NOT_FOUND
    Course Both work for me.....

    I actually threw a brief overview of this situation at Heidi our previous IT person... She wrote:

    The first thing to do when people can’t connect is ask them to run traceroute to the site, to show where they’re getting stuck.
    Wonder if we should start a new clean thread with just traceroute entries and little chatter?

    AND.... here's another really small Sister site with no traffic:
    http://forums.devx.com/

    I wonder what happens when you guys try it? I'd assume you'd have the same problems.

  15. #90
    Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    61
    When I right-clicked on the link to this thread to view the latest response, in IE11, I got this:

    https://www.www.sysopt.com/showthrea...s&goto=newpost

    Can't reach this page. Note the extra www.

    When I copied and pasted the link into Google Chrud and deleted the extra www. I could see the thread. If I try deleting the extra www. in IE11 (without closing all running instances of IE and rebooting), it just puts the extra www. back in. Note that this is NOT consistent. Sometimes I can open the link OK with IE11. Sometimes I get the extra www. with other web browsers also. The lack of consistent results makes it hard to try to diagnose what might be causing the issues.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •