Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: New PSU-PC not starting. CPU-power-adapter

  1. #31
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951

    Replacing HQ-Capacitors

    Tip: use 105C electrolytic capacitors,

    Tidbit: Panasonic makes a great 'tube' capacitor. Right! The center is hollow! It helps dissipate heat.
    It is way too expensive for consumer applications.)
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  2. #32
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951
    should i replace the old capacitors by this new tech?
    https://www.vishay.com/company/press...erCapacitor/en
    see new thread about that:
    http://www.sysopt.com/showthread.php...17#post1512717
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  3. #33
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951
    Bad Caps(capacitors)
    https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=15757!

    I have Sanyo and HM(M) Nichicon on a newer MOBO.
    Actual MOBO has Rubyoon and HM(M) Nichicon.
    Will replace my GA-7N400Pro2. on the actual MOBO PCI-Slots are dead.
    All capacitors will be replaced on a halfdead Mobo.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
    Could be that my capacitors are at end of life and no plague at all!
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  4. #34
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951

    Rubycon Capacitors not Rubiyoon

    Quote Originally Posted by europanorama View Post
    Bad Caps(capacitors)
    https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=15757!

    I have Sanyo and HM(M) Nichicon on a newer MOBO.
    Actual MOBO has Rubicon and HM(M) Nichicon.
    Will replace my GA-7N400Pro2. on the actual MOBO PCI-Slots are dead.
    All capacitors will be replaced on a halfdead Mobo.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
    Could be that my capacitors are at end of life and no plague at all!
    http://www.rubycon.co.jp/de/contact/distr_europe.html
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  5. #35
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951

    Great News. Found a mistake-and PSU may be shut down

    Had been running my old GA-7N400 Pro2 for quite long time. its 18 months since all this here started.
    1-The right browsers for old Winxp-PCs(even slowest are running on internet)
    meanwhile found the right browsers for my SSE(not SSE)-Processor-PC.
    Here is the second part of a very long discussion. yes everything in one thread(2 parts).
    One needs a lot of breath and patience to understand.
    https://msfn.org/board/topic/180462-...e/29/#comments
    start in page one of part 1.
    2. Had often crashes with all browsers mentioned above in msfn.org. dependent where i was surfing.
    Palemoon Newmoon 27SSE, KMeleon, Firefox 45 ESR

    yesterday i tested memory 3x 1mb Ram. i exchange them. errors with all of them in slot 1.
    No they are not defective. Memory slot 1 is dead or ill.
    so i am now running with 2 x 1mb ram. explorer-crashes may happen but not browsers.
    Next is examining the services. Yes in know the other workaouround if slow winxp etc.

    3. I still have slow internet despite the memory-cure. only 30Mbps
    Download. should be 1000. havent yet found out why. cannot install mobile router on winxp. or is one working?
    we will see wnen i have new laptop i7.
    see my new thread.
    4. Big surprise after i cleaned pc and replacedhermal compound. PSU was shot down.
    Capacitor can hold cmos-setup-content. only dont know for how long without electricity. during this PSU in standby capacitor for cmos-setup-backup had been formed(hope its the right term) reactivated.
    Was a problem leading to non-total-shut down of PSU. will now test if this is not temporarily. already had a 3months only successstory on this behalf.
    Last edited by europanorama; 01-10-2020 at 12:31 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  6. #36
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951
    More about capacitor plague. not only PC-MOBOs affected.
    https://music-electronics-forum.com/...ad.php?t=35495

    Discussion about newer MOBOs and from where are the capacitors.
    https://hardforum.com/threads/capaci...srock.1816837/
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  7. #37
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,951
    Old very long thread.
    Found in my files.
    I am finally on win 10-ultrabooks with other hardware-problems on Swift 5
    capacitor plague
    https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_Plague

    Pull out all accessories, especially USB devices (including USB hub).
    If you can, use new wired mouse and new wired keyboard.
    Pull out all the hard drives.

    1. Boot from a floppy (hey, it is XP PC!), or boot from CD/DVD.
    May need to go to BIOS first to select boot device.

    2. If 1. boots, power off and put back all the hard drives. Still, no accessories and USB devices.

    3. If 2. boots. It is your accessories or USB devices.
    Plug in one at a time. The one preventing boot-up is the pulpit.
    or
    4. If 1. fails, it is your PSU. Or as Berton said, it is the capacitors.

    The failing capacitors may not even bulge up.
    The failure is increased ESR, equivalent series resistance, of the capacitors.
    The failure could be gradual.

    PSU and the on-board 'psu' for the uP are the same: switching power supply.
    It has a lot of high frequency ripples riding on the DC Voltages. The capacitors are to smooth them out.
    Despite no physical appearance, these psu capacitors are hot.
    Internally it is quite hot. [Tip: use 105C electrolytic capacitors, never lower temperature.]
    The ripples on the ESR (it is a resistor!) is heat W=IxIxR.
    Capacitor has poor heat dissipation.
    Electrolytic type is just a roll of wet paper. The center is very poor heat dissipation.
    (Tidbit: Panasonic makes a great 'tube' capacitor. Right! The center is hollow! It helps dissipate heat.
    It is way too expensive for consumer applications.)
    When ESR is too high, heat is higher, and the ripple on the DC rails will be too high,
    causing logic errors.
    Also, the efficiency of the psu falls. At some point, the psu cannot supply the Wattage,
    or incapable of handling transient high load from the uP. (This is more likely, as the transient current
    can be as high as 50A, if not higher). Then the PC fails.
    In marginal case, at light load it may work. Or, say, it may unexpectedly shut down
    when you play a video (heavy load).

    If you are lucky, the on board 'psu' maybe OK.
    Then you can replace the PSU to extend life.
    If the on board psu goes, there is no cheap fix.
    .------------
    Tip: use 105C electrolytic capacitors,

    Tidbit: Panasonic makes a great 'tube' capacitor. Right! The center is hollow! It helps dissipate heat.
    It is way too expensive for consumer applications.)
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •