Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: New drive to backup existing one-Preparation

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799

    New drive to backup existing one-Preparation

    Do i have to attach new backup-drive to a running system to be able for its preparation? Thanks
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  2. #2
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    I verify it is in a format that windows can read and make my basic folders before I begin.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799
    Dont understand second part. drive is used to backup full systemdrive with partitions. I remember last time having it prepared attached on a running system. its this the right way? the same also when windows-installation must be made?
    Last edited by europanorama; 12-17-2015 at 12:07 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  4. #4
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Yes, attaching to a running system works.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799
    "make my basic folders before I begin. " what do you mean?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  6. #6
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    I usually back up my images to a folder and in that folder I have 3 folders. When I do my backups I always 3, just incase, for each computer.

    So I make three folders and name after the computer, then inside I have 3 those will be rotated every month as to which has the latest image.

  7. #7
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,223
    Quote Originally Posted by europanorama View Post
    "make my basic folders before I begin. " what do you mean?
    In other words - he verifies that he can read/write to the drive
    "Vegetarians live up to nine years longer than the rest of us...Nine horrible, worthless, baconless years."

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799
    Are your referring to systempartition-images, train?
    This thread here is for backup of entire drive with multiples partitions.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  9. #9
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Fine, once you know it works, delete and do your clone to it.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799
    Deleting what?

    I am about to prepare a new drive for backup of an entire system-drive.
    at start it says it will be a dynamic drive(2TB). is that default and mustnt i change to basic after that? maybe after formatting?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799

    SOLVED

    changed to basic with rightclick before formatting.
    earlier i was using diskmanager. which boot-cd-programs should i use when i want to have only new empty-drive attached?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799
    removes "indices for quick search" before formatting. good idea?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  13. #13
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    I use windows. open my computer, R-click and select format, Select NTFS and do it.
    If I can not see it in my computer, then I use disk management.
    It can also be done while installing Win 7.
    This shows how to do that with graphics.
    http://www.windowsreinstall.com/win7...exfullpage.htm

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799
    When i restarted new drive was not recognized. maybe because i didnt associate a letter? will restart. maybe its to avoid confusions. better disconnect until right drive is attached for boot-backup, right.
    i am weakly remembering that i could once show up drive again.
    will check graphics.
    My ideas with my removing of quick search. maybe it will be reset again when backup is done.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,799

    Solved halfway

    After second restart and making changes in cmos-setup drive could be seen again.
    I activated smart and 32 bit on that channel. its on the second slower series or two.
    second on quicker is busy for esata.
    what is meant with 32bit there?
    was this the reason drive was shown again in drive-management/computerverwaltung?
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •