Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fax Modem not being recognized by Server 2008 R2

  1. #1
    Senior Member Woodcycl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    850

    Question Fax Modem not being recognized by Server 2008 R2

    A business I assist with wants to move their fax line from their big copy/print/fax machine to their server and setup a Fax Server Role. Their server is a Dell blade server running Server 2008 R2 with no modem installed. So, I hooked up a new US Robotics 5686G Fax Modem with a serial RS232 Modem Cable to the server. After a server restart, the modem still is not being recognized as a connected device. According to the USR website, Server 2008 will provide its own device driver automatically and be recognized.

    Any thoughts, ideas, etc.?

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Senior Member rockinup1231's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    942
    You need to go through the modem setup wizard on your own. From there it will detect the modem and probably install it correctly. To get to that in the start menu search bar just type the word 'modem' (no quotes), click the 'Phone and Modem' option that comes up. Fill out the details it asks about that are relevant to your setup and then under the modems tab of the window that comes up click the Add button. The rest should be straightforward.
    MSI 870S-G46 | AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.8ghz | Gigabyte Radeon 7870 Ghz Edition | 1 x 128GB Kingston HyperX SSD | 2 x WD 500GB Blue HDD | Arch Linux x64 | BFG Tech LS SERIES LS-550 550W | 2 x 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM, 2 x 2GB DDR3 1600 RAM (12 GB)

  3. #3
    Senior Member Woodcycl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    850
    Thanks rockinup1231. I was able to add the modem ... as a standard 9600 modem and it shows as "working properly". I'm connected using a serial cable with USB Adapter ... and it is on com3. However, neither putty nor the internal modem diagnostic can query the modem for some reason. Any thoughts on this?

  4. #4
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Did you share it?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Woodcycl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    850
    Not sure what you mean Train. Do I need to setup some portion of the Fax Server Role or something else to simply query the modem from inside Phone & Modem in Server 2008?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    I have no idea where you would need to do that in Server 2008.
    But unless other computers have permission to use it, nothing will happen.
    Possible help.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc753191.aspx

    My search has more links.
    https://www.google.com/search?q=serv...-a&channel=nts

  7. #7
    Senior Member rockinup1231's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    942
    Quote Originally Posted by Woodcycl View Post
    Thanks rockinup1231. I was able to add the modem ... as a standard 9600 modem and it shows as "working properly". I'm connected using a serial cable with USB Adapter ... and it is on com3. However, neither putty nor the internal modem diagnostic can query the modem for some reason. Any thoughts on this?
    Sorry for the belated response, and hopefully you have this sorted out already.

    If not, I think its because you don't have the correct drivers installed for that modem. The support page here for that modem should have some compatible modem drivers. Try swapping those in and re-querying the modem.

    USB to serial adapters can be a bit flaky at times, too. You may need to make some adjustments via the DIP switches on the modem for it to work correctly, but I would try different drivers first.
    MSI 870S-G46 | AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.8ghz | Gigabyte Radeon 7870 Ghz Edition | 1 x 128GB Kingston HyperX SSD | 2 x WD 500GB Blue HDD | Arch Linux x64 | BFG Tech LS SERIES LS-550 550W | 2 x 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM, 2 x 2GB DDR3 1600 RAM (12 GB)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •