Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 1 or 2 cpus

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    35

    Question 1 or 2 cpus

    Will a mother board with (2) cpus work better than one with a single p-4 or 1 dual core cpu for a game pc. I have a 1-2 cpu key code & install disks for win 2000 pro and win xp pro.thks

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    If you mean 2 sockets, then no. You're better off getting a dual core cpu. dual socket boards are for workstations/servers, so they're going to be more expensive too.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    If I remember right, 2 single cpus are about 5% faster than a single cpu and they need the right OS. Get a dual or quad core and get a right pleasant surprise.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    all the mobo with dual physical CPUs are outdated, including the Xeons motherboards
    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

  5. #5
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Read the last entry and see where you take a big hit. Gaming wise.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/29...sktop-computer

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    35

    Smile THKS

    Thks for the come back. I like to play the old games and have 4 pc 3.1-95-98-& one with me & 2000 pro all with games on them.
    I have some old m.bs with duel slot 1 on one and dual 370 sockets on two of them thats why I was thinking about hunting down a pair of slot 1 or p111 to play with.
    I have a core 2 dual with xp-64 & win 7-64 that I fixed up for the grand kids when they come but I like the old games better.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    95,98, WinMe - 386 MB of ram is the fastest, although 512 does work.. And jack up the virtual to between 500 - 1000 MB.
    What worked for me was 5ppMB min for the virtual. Play around with the settings and note the outcome.
    Heck I can not even install 98 on this rig. Yes, a lot of newer mobos will not let you install the DOS based operating systems.

  8. #8
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    VMware type may let you install 98 and run the games.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    35

    Smile old win OS install

    I use acronis 10 to format and partition a 2 gb hd fat 16 for 95 at 1.gb for os & 1.gb for drive d on a packerd bell legend with 64 mb edo ram. I have a old 486 I use for dos & 3.1.with a 85 mb hd for os and 210 hd for d dr.
    I use a gateway monorail amd socket 7 k6-2 500 mhz cpu with 386 ram on a 30 gb hd fat 32. 6 gb for win 98SE os and 24 gb for games on d dr.
    WIN ME & 2000pro are on a old gateway with a 865 motherboard 3.0 cpu 1gb ram. I formatted a 160 hd with 20 gb c dr for WIN me & 20 gb d dr for 2000 pro & 120 gb f dr for games cd dr got e dr.
    I have put win2000pro/xp/vista/win 7 on 1 hd as long as each has its own partition and you start with the oldest WIN OS first with a new install for each.
    After bios win will give you 30 seconds to pick which WIN OS you want.
    My local school updated there pc years ago and I got all the old pc to play with.
    Some I use & the rest I use for parts.85mb up to 2 gb hd are hard to come by when I need one.

  10. #10
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Now those sure look familiar.

    But I upgraded the K6-2 380MHZ to a K6-III. 550 if I remember right.


    Overall, you are looking good. Muli booted two hdds in the same computer using the BIOS to select which hdd to boot from. Browsed to the 98 programs , example, threw shorcuts to the desktop and as the programs were install in 98, would not work in XP, the darn things worked beautifully. Not all, but the biggest majority did.

    Just something I learned, shall we say the hard way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •