Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: What to you is "No Operating System Found? Hardware/Software

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045

    What to you is "No Operating System Found? Hardware/Software

    Just a general question. What do you think cuases "No Operating System Found? Hardware/Software.

    I know what can cause it like bad MBR/Memory/HDD/Lose cable etc etc but what would your first step in this case? if you are unable to trouble shoot hardware issues due to the fact you are not onsite or you a remote would you try a remote reimage to see if it fails after checking the BIOS to make sure your HDD shows and the boot sequence is set correctly? To me I don't put this down to hardware more so a corrupt OS or MBR. I have this guy I work with who states this is a 9 times out of a10 a hardware problem even if the system passes all Hardware tests to me that a stupid statement and silly think that this issue is caused by hardware 99% of the time. I have argued with him and I can't budge him on it to the point it irritated me to anger lol


    One more thing my COMPTIA A+ test showed this a corrupt MBR or BIOS lol
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    My first guess is always -> Dead hard drive.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    My first guess is always -> Dead hard drive.
    Mine too. Only 3X has it been the motherboard, the rest hdd.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    OK which is what I would think right off the bad. If you can see the drive in the BIOS and load your OS on that Drive and see no other errors from the machine memory/HDD etc. Not a hardware issue. I would not replace the drive.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    Or is it just one of those Grey areas’s that is process of elimination. I my self have never came across this error due to a bad drive. Mostly was a bad MBR or lose cable causing the issue
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  6. #6
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    May still be the hdd, why you run the diagnostic tool.

    The old Maxtor 40 GB hdds were good at doing what you stated. <shudder>

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    And we run diags and they pass. strange thing.
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  8. #8
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    5,221
    The phrase - "it depends" comes to mind.... If my mom called and said she got the error I would supsect bad drive cause I KNOW she would never open the case....thus rulling out loose cable.

    And the error will show up BEFORE you come close to loading the OS.... so that rules out a corrupt OS...

  9. #9
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    Now I would think a bad MBR maybe the cause.

    I use a SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 adapter and save what I would hate to lose on the hdd.
    Then DBAN, the default 3 passes is plenty, then try for a clean install.
    http://www.dban.org/

    If the install goes real goofy, then I would think the IDE controller(s) are bad and get a new mobo.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member Beeblequix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ruins: Deus Ex Incarnate
    Posts
    1,402
    Few minor thoughts.

    1. failing hard drive -- especially if it's getting long in the tooth (>=5 years old)
    2. failing IDE or SATA bus (would fail even more often when heated up)
    3. #1 &/or #2 can cause a corrupted OS.

    I think an old PC in my closet has a failing IDE bus because it will do that 'no os found' thing. Seems I just unplugged/replugged the IDE ribbon every time that happened to temporarily fix it.

    Hope that helps.
    "all animals are equal but some animals are more equal than others".
    George Orwell

  11. #11
    Member ua549's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    67
    My first thought is a failing hard drive for whatever reason.
    My first diagnostic action is to have the user attempt to boot from alternate media.
    My experience is that about half of the time the issue is with missing boot files, not hardware, because the user has been "optimizing" their PC.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member Rocketmech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas
    Posts
    5,739
    In this case, first thing I would check is for non-bootable floppy or CD media. If they are clear , then I check if the bios sees the HDD, next I look for content on the drive. There is a flow chart to tshooting problems. Never assume or jump to conclusions, especially in remote support. As you can see , my first assumption is operator error, which is the usual suspect

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member Ol'Tunzafun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canadian prairie
    Posts
    3,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocketmech View Post
    In this case, first thing I would check is for non-bootable floppy or CD media.
    I've seen where flash drives that remain plugged in during restart can throw this same error.
    That said, in my experience this often means that the active partition has gone south (for whatever reason) or has lost its active status.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •