Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 21 of 21

Thread: Win7 free A/V software

  1. #16
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    You are Welcome!

  2. #17
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Did you change any settings in MS SE? Was it trying to complete a scan?
    Did you remove/disable Windows Defender?

    I have removed Norton Products (even Endpoint Protection I was running at home) and put MS SE on...HUGE difference in shut down, boot up and overall use.

    I've recommended it to several friends tired of paying for Norton, McJunkafee...and tired of them being a resource hog. They're very happy.

    Free is good, too...

  3. #18
    Ultimate Member gwlogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    King City, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,083
    ?Did I change any MS SE settings? = No. I always take defaults unless I have a very good reason not to. I did the same with Avira.

    ?Was it trying to complete a scan? = There was no indication that a scan was running. All the A/V's I have ever used before would tell you when a scan was running. I'm guessing MS SE does the same.

    ?Did I remove/disable Windows Defender? = I took the defaults for everthing during the install. What is Defender?

  4. #19
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    Defender was the predecessor to MS SE. Uninstall it if you have MS SE.

  5. #20
    Ultimate Member gwlogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    King City, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,083
    Defender is not installed. Probably never was as I don't remember the name at all.

  6. #21
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Vista and 7 came loaded with Defender...
    It was an option to download for XP.
    Installing MSE disabled Defender properly on my 7 box, but MS says you might have to manually disable it or uninstall it if it doesn't get disabled automatically....

    Defender and MSE running together could very easily slow your system down.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •