Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: raid loss

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,711

    raid loss

    Folks,

    I have a gforce nas mdn2000 home nas/raid appliance

    I was running it with two drives mirrored, and something happened to the onboard controller, and now it sees one drive and the other it says is not part of the array.

    The problem is that it wont let me access the one drive it says still has data.

    Does anyone have any thoughts on how I can get a copy of the data off of these? Has anyone used any recovery software that was able to see a raided disk?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    If they are RAID1, then you should be able to take the good drive out and connect it directly to a motherboard and get the data.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,711
    looks like I got lucky. I was able to boot with BartPE and am copying off the data to USB right now. Not sure why, but windows could see the partitions, but wouldn't let me assign a drive letter.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member Ankerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,441
    Quote Originally Posted by r8500 View Post
    looks like I got lucky. I was able to boot with BartPE and am copying off the data to USB right now. Not sure why, but windows could see the partitions, but wouldn't let me assign a drive letter.
    Raid one is just 2 drives mirrored, as in 2 exact copies of the drive so it really wouldn't matter that much.

    Now if you were running raid zero you would have been in a lot of trouble.
    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,711
    Quote Originally Posted by Ankerson View Post
    Raid one is just 2 drives mirrored, as in 2 exact copies of the drive so it really wouldn't matter that much.

    Now if you were running raid zero you would have been in a lot of trouble.
    I would never run raid zero for important data. I don't take those big a risks lol

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member Ankerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,441
    Quote Originally Posted by r8500 View Post
    I would never run raid zero for important data. I don't take those big a risks lol
    Smart.
    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •