Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Which Processor?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224

    Which Processor?

    I'm simply out of the game.
    Built my own system 6 years ago...and I got a new PC at work with Windows 7 and I'm having fun with computers again.

    I've got no interest in building another or upgrading mine...

    So...I'm looking at two PCs, both Windows 7 64 bit.

    I do NOT game on the computer. I will be doing some ametuer video editing from the race track, kid's school activities, etc. Nothing too intense.

    I'm looking at two PCs with more space than I could ever need (750GB drives) and 4GB of RAM.

    I can get the Core 2 Quad 8300 @ 2.5GHz for 50 dollars more than an AMD Athlon II X2 215 @ 2.70 GHz.

    Both have identical specs other than that....512MB dedicated video memory, RAM, HDD space, outputs, etc.

    For what I do (Internet, Email, Office, light picture editing and light video editing...) is it worth the extra 50 clams for the Intel quad core vs. the AMD Dual core?

    I have no interest or time in building my own. I'm taking the old man out and buying a preassembled with 7 loaded on it (although I'm sure I'll do a clean wipe and install...lol)

    What say you??

  2. #2
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    In this case the Core 2 Quad 8300 should do the video work faster.

    Although the AMD Athlon II X2 215 will a lot less electricity. Thus cheaper in the long run to operate.

  3. #3
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Thanks Train.
    When I say video, all I really mean is taking my drag racing videos (5-10 seconds) and the kids riding their bikes, riding their 4 wheelers, at Karate, etc., and taking them off the camera...then encoding them to a video file on the computer, that's it. No hocus pocus or magical editing....

    I'm not worried about the little money the AMD will save, but for example...if a 10 minute video takes 10 minutes to encode with the Intel and 25 with the AMD...that's a reason to go Intel.
    If one takes 10, the other takes 12...then I'll save the money....both up front and in the long run.

    Like I said, light use.

    This used to be my hobby and my job...now it's just a job for me...my interests have moved on, that's why I'm buying a built box instead of redoing my own.

    Thanks again Train....

    Where did all the old timers go?

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    I would go Intel. The Quad has Speedstep, so that would downclock the CPU at low loads. The Intel Quad would be viable for longer.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2...hmarks,60.html
    The Quad 8200 beats the Athlon II X2 250. The Q8300 would easily smoke the 215.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    What cpu do you have now?
    And how much time does it take now?

    But I do go along with Midknyte, as more programs are being written for multi cores, it will save you time.

  6. #6
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    LOL...
    I have a 6.5 year old 2500 barton, A7N8X with a pair of Raptors in 0.

    Just about anything I buy now will be LIGHT YEARS faster...
    Just like when I bought/assembled that system, however...I want the best bang for the buck!!



    MK...good to see you still around and Kickin'....

  7. #7
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    You are right, that Intel will do in a couple minute what the 2500 took 20 - 30 minutes to do.

    And the new SATA WD Caviar Black 2 TB hdd will be faster than your present Raid 0.

  8. #8
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Thanks Train.
    I'm using/testing a PC for work with Win7 Pro. I'm going to buy the identical box after Christmas.
    I like the idea of running virtual XP for free, allows me more flexibility.

    Right now it has a Quad 2 Core Q8300. 4GB RAM....seems to get it done!

  9. #9
    Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    3,921
    That they will do.

    Depending on what is available at that time, you may have to upgrade a bit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •