Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pc quit talking to exchange server

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    661

    pc quit talking to exchange server

    WIN-XP Pc was fine friday, but on Monday it would not talk to exchange server.

    Using Outlook 2007

    connection to network is fine.
    connection to internet is fine.

    connection to exchange server is on local network
    can ping exchange fine

    removed fraud.xpantivirus
    nothing else found by Antivirus or Antispyware tools

    control panel: mail setup cannot talk to exchange either

    any ideas what to look for?

    account is still valid with password. tested access on another machine.


    tried to update to sp2 2007 but it failed , near the end it had a RPC shutdown issue but failed before the 60 sec timer finished.

  2. #2
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Try running Malwarebytes on the PC. It is still infected with something nasty.

  3. #3
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    nothing else found by Antivirus or Antispyware tools
    You need to specify what programs you ran. Not all apps are created equal, especially old junk like Adaware and Spybot.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    661

    Some old some new

    Used Malwarebytes and spybot and Hijackthis

    nothing found in Hijackthis log when I uploaded it to hijackthis.de analyzer

    do you like spyware terminator ? or superantispyware?

  5. #5
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    Spyware Terminator is junk (it used to be on the rogue antispyware list). Superantispyware is good.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    661

    more ideas

    Superantispyware found nothing but ad cookies

  7. #7
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    That is really strange. Try the Winsock fix.

    http://majorgeeks.com/WinSock_XP_Fix_d4372.html

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member Ol'Tunzafun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canadian prairie
    Posts
    3,798
    This sounds like an RPC firewall issue. Try adding the server's IP to the trusted side of the firewall.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,711
    make sure this service is running Wired AutoConfig

    Depending what SP level Windows is at, it may or may not be there

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    661
    thanks for the replies. I ended up reinstalling. Had to get it back up and running.
    Luckily I could pull all data off.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •