Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: AVG charging for basic AV

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Diego & Baja
    Posts
    370

    AVG charging for basic AV

    I've been using AVG for years now, their basic always kept me protected. Now they have come with a new version 8.0 and they want to charge $54.00? Their saying the basic version is still free, but they are charging for the updates?? Did I read it right?

    If this is correct, I'll look for another another free version. I know some companies have to charge for their products. But $54.00? I can buy one my at local electronic store on sale for a lot cheaper and a rebate to boot!

    If that's the case, I'll look at Avast or something else.

    Oh well, but hey nothing is free these days and it's starting to look like that!
    Asus M2N-E, AMD 64 X2 4200, Asus GeForce 9600 GSO, 3GB Kingston DDR2, Seagate IDE 160GB, Maxtor IDE 200GB, Dell 24" E248WFP

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    Did you look at the AV/Antispy sticky recently?

    Avira is still free.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Diego & Baja
    Posts
    370
    No I didn't but I will. This should help me choose a good one. Thanks!
    Asus M2N-E, AMD 64 X2 4200, Asus GeForce 9600 GSO, 3GB Kingston DDR2, Seagate IDE 160GB, Maxtor IDE 200GB, Dell 24" E248WFP

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member cdroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    in limbo
    Posts
    1,741
    SAVING FACE OR LOSING FACE

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    Avast! is the best one out there, and it's 100% Free
    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    well bid difender is doing well

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    can some body help me
    im havin problem with my hard disk
    which cannot be formatted nw
    can u some body tell me the reson and how to sole the problem?
    plx

  8. #8
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Hard drives fail all of the time. They definitely do not last forever.

    What you need to do is to go to the support site for the drive manufacturer (Seagate, Western Digital, Samsung, Maxtor. IBM/Hitachi) and download the diagnostic software to check the drive. It will tell you what's up.

    Honestly, you should just buy a replacement OEM drive that matches yours as closely as possible and replace it. It's probably IDE (ATA) and costs about $50 to replace. It's pretty easy to do.

    Tell us about the system. Open the case and tell us the brand of drive and about how big it is (was).
    MS MCP, MCSE

  9. #9
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    Gandaa76, don't hijack someone else's thread. If you have a problem, create a thread of your own.

  10. #10
    Senior Member kevrob1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    613
    I think you need to look more closely at the web page... AVG 8.0 basic is still free as of today, however the AVG Internet Security suite is $54.99.

    http://free.grisoft.com/ww.download-...s-free-edition
    kevrob1

    Peace Go With You...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Diego & Baja
    Posts
    370
    Hey kevrob, thanks for the tip. I looked at it when I got a pop up saying 7.5 was ending. When I clicked the link to upgrade, the asked for my info and then payment type. I was like huh? So I checked their website and found in their FAQ's that a free wasn't available yet, then I found one that said they were now charging for upgrades?

    So I check earlier and did find the free 8.0 edition. Cool, that helps. I was ready to change to Avast. But now I don't have to, I've been happy them with for now so why change. Thanks
    Asus M2N-E, AMD 64 X2 4200, Asus GeForce 9600 GSO, 3GB Kingston DDR2, Seagate IDE 160GB, Maxtor IDE 200GB, Dell 24" E248WFP

  12. #12
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Got it working for free for me.

    In case anybody else was wondering, here's how to remove that annoying link scanner:

    http://blog.drale.com/how-to-disable-avg-linkscanner/
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dandridge, Tennessee
    Posts
    774
    nice tip mj

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •