Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Memory or ATI???

  1. #1
    Senior Member seanieboy77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    The computer
    Posts
    555

    Memory or ATI???

    Hey guys, I've been having this problem for a couple weeks now and I can't stand it any longer. When I play a game it crashes out to the desktop or I get the BSOD and then the computer needs to be restarted. I caught this error last night while playing.
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_A_NONPAGE_AREA
    or
    IRQL_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    And then below it had this:
    ati3duag.dll
    And I have looked this up but I still can't get the problem to go away. I have tried everything and these are my specs.
    Intel P4 HT 3.2Ghz
    Radeon X1600 Pr
    2gigs of PC3200 DDR ram
    500 watt power supply
    640 Hard Drive Space
    Windows XP
    At one forum they said I should test the memory and stress the video card. So I stressed out the video card and no crash there. But when I tested the memory it cam out with around 15 errors. Now some people said that my memory might be bad and others said I should try and knock down the timings. So I want to know what you guys think the problems might be and if I slow down the timings how do I do that and what do the timings mean? Will I lose performence? Will my computer slow to a crawl? Should I just get a Nvidia card? Any help is greatly appreciated.
    -BTY

    **EDIT**
    I posted some of my minidumps if anyone wants to look through them.
    -BTY
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by seanieboy77; 02-02-2008 at 09:44 PM.
    Dear Diary,
    Jackpot!
    -Quagmire

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    if you are getting memory errors, then it's the memory. test each stick by itself.

    are you overclocking or not? if you're not overclocking, then the memory should work at the default timings without error.

  3. #3
    Senior Member seanieboy77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    The computer
    Posts
    555
    I'm not overclocking and how would I go about testing each stick by itself??
    -BTY
    Dear Diary,
    Jackpot!
    -Quagmire

  4. #4
    Senior Member seanieboy77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    The computer
    Posts
    555
    Should I just unplug one stick run a test on it and then test the other stick?
    -BTY
    Dear Diary,
    Jackpot!
    -Quagmire

  5. #5
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    That would be the obvious way to test each stick by themselves.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member rraehal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    3,874
    Test your hard drive too. If you page memory to a faulty spot on the hard drive you can get the PAGE_FAULT_IN_A_NONPAGE_AREA as well when the information is read back into RAM. The bad page will be faulty data.
    -- Mathias

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •