Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Re-Boot (NOT!)

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282

    Re-Boot (NOT!)

    Howdy Y'all Long time, no prob.
    Here's what's up. My machine has decided to stop re-booting. Wether on command or as part of an install. I wind up having to stop, using the power button, switch off the PSU, hold in the power button (clear CMOS) for 30 seconds, switch the PSU back on and re-start. Of course I get a boot fail screen then but just F1. Even with the BIOS set to default. This is a pain in the **** I think the MB has taken a ****, but everything else works fine. Please tell me I'm overlooking something, I don't want to have to install another MB

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  2. #2
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    You could see if a flash update to a newer BIOS helps?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282
    Thanx I'll give it a try.

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282
    No-go. Bummer I'm afraid it's the motherboard. I'll try to hold out till there are more AM2+ boards out there, but this is sure a hassel

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  5. #5
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Could be a power supply issue.

    You mentioned clearing CMOS. Did you remove the battery with the power disconnected?
    MS MCP, MCSE

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282
    Hiya Bill! Funny you should mention that power issue. Now that I think about it, all this started very soon after I installed a new PSU. (Enermax Galaxy) I'm not sure how that would effect the reboot sequence, but then I'm certanly no expert. As for removing the battery, it's in a very hard to get at place on this board so I opted to unplug the machine and tape the power button down overnight. I know that didh't drain the battery, but I was hoping to get all the capacitors and maybe make a differance. I will take the battery out today and let you know if that worked.

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  7. #7
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Removing the battery truly clears CMOS by taking away the power that enables the BIOS to retain settings and clears "bad data". The PC must be unplugged too.

    You will have to set any custom BIOS parameters and the time after doing this. If the time is still accurate after clearing CMOS, you haven't really cleared it. It will always revert to the time/date that it was when the manufacturer first programmed the BIOS - months or years prior to todays date.

    When your PC restarts, the BIOS tells the power supply to cycle once in the process. If the power supply doesn't respond properly, the PC won't restart. It's actually a bit more complicated than that, but you get the picture.

    Bad CMOS data may prevent the BIOS from properly signalling the PSU. My guess is that the PSU is the culprit, but you need to try this first.

    Why did you change the PSU? Maybe the motherboard/BIOS is indeed messed up. If it is, updating the BIOS and clearing/setting the CMOS afterward may help.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282
    I took the battery out for an hour or so, re-set my BIOS and it would re-start! But three hours later after some gaming and work on my music collection I tried re-start again with no success I can, however, now use the re-start button on the computer without having to shut all the way down That is an improvement. Any further thoughts?

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  9. #9
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    MS MCP, MCSE

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282
    Nope, no bad caps. I'm still leaning towards a bad MoBo. I've got an RMA coming on my Freezone CPU cooler. Perhaps that would be a good time to break down the machine for a differant board. I thought the ASUS would last me a couple of years, but I'm not going to put up with this no reboot nonsense. Anything out there look good for SLI gaming, with longevety? This board has been a good overclocker in the five months I have owned it and I am running my current chip at 3.3 Ghz. This is the kind of performance I am looking for, but without basics dropping out on me. I've had MSI boards in the past and I know BPB is a fan of these. Any suggestions Bill?

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  11. #11
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    I haven't been in the market for a motherboard since the nForce3 series and don't even own a PCI Express card. I'm not the one to ask. Still, MSI is a fine brand. I also like Epox. They are all good really. Just be sure to get a board that uses solid capacitors and that has all of the features you need.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Potomac Falls VA.
    Posts
    282
    Thanx Bill, and everyone! I'll start looking around for a new board, but I'm gonna keep beating this one up to see if I can get it right I'll let y'all know what transpires.
    On an off note, where's Bovon?

    TY
    Creeper
    Specs:
    ASUS Crosshair
    AMD 64 X2 6400 BE
    2 gig OCZ Platinum DDR2 800
    2x WD 78gig Raptors Raid 0
    Vista Home Premium
    2 BFG 7900GTX OC
    Creative XFi
    Sony DVDRW Dual Layer
    Enermax Galaxy Dx X 1000
    Koolance EXOS2 (GPU)
    CoolIt Freezone(CPU)

  13. #13
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Bovon. He was gettin' up in the years. I figure that he's either taken up gardening or moved on to the great beyond. God bless him. He was having health problems the last time we spoke....

    We haven't heard much from Ukulele in a while either.

    It just goes to show how fragile our online relationships are. There's no way to tell what happens to people, is there? It breaks my heart to think about it.
    MS MCP, MCSE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •