Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: It is worth upgrading to Direct X 10?

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305

    It is worth upgrading to Direct X 10?

    it is worth upgrading to Direct X 10 now in WinXP ?

    and using our current Video cards?

    just wondering if we are going to have any problems with the old games that are pre-Direct X 10

    i7-3970X, Corsair H80, 32GB G.SKILL, ASUS RAMPAGE4 Formula, VG278H(3x27")+3D Vision2, EVGA GTX 690(x2), OCZ ZX1250W, 256GB Vertex4(x2), Seagate 3TB(x5), Antec LanBoyAir, Logitech G510, G600, Z560THX, T.Flight Hotas, PZ35, Sennheiser PC163D, TrackIR5

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member MadPistol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In your thoughts, or AL
    Posts
    1,359
    I don't think we have that option. DX10 is Vista only.

    Pretty much all games coming out within the next year will be compatible with XP. I don't think you have anything to worry about.
    Core 2 Duo E6600 | eVGA 680i SLI | eVGA 8800 GTX | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair XMS2 2GB PC2-6400 800mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | Western Digital 500GB Caviar HDD | OCZ GameXStream 700-watt PSU | 24" Acer X241W LCD

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member KraZy_SkitZy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ahhh! Where Am I!?
    Posts
    1,387
    I wouldn't be to concerned with DX10 until you see that must have game you want, and only if that must have game brings yur current card to its knees.
    Lenovo y700-15acz
    MSI GT80S 6QF

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member fizur2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    1,837
    im seeing more and more games that are Vista Only, hope that trend does not continue.
    AMD Phenom II x4 940 @ 3.41GHZ : Asus M3A78-T : 8GB DDR2 800 : Acer 23" 1080P Widescreen : ATi Radeon HD 4870 : OCZ GameXtremE 850 Watt PSU

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member KraZy_SkitZy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ahhh! Where Am I!?
    Posts
    1,387
    You mean "Games for Windows"? I do believe those can be played on XP as well
    Lenovo y700-15acz
    MSI GT80S 6QF

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by KraZy_SkitZy
    You mean "Games for Windows"? I do believe those can be played on XP as well
    Not all of them. Halo 2 is vista only. Shadowrun may be as well, if I remember correctly.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member MadPistol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In your thoughts, or AL
    Posts
    1,359
    Quote Originally Posted by MoxManiac
    Not all of them. Halo 2 is vista only. Shadowrun may be as well, if I remember correctly.
    You are correct. Neither of them are DX10 but they only work on Vista. I'm just waiting for some group to crack this "problem". I'm sure it can be done.
    Core 2 Duo E6600 | eVGA 680i SLI | eVGA 8800 GTX | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair XMS2 2GB PC2-6400 800mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | Western Digital 500GB Caviar HDD | OCZ GameXStream 700-watt PSU | 24" Acer X241W LCD

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member Rugor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, Earth
    Posts
    2,694
    It's apparently already been done for Shadowrun. Personally, I went with a DX 10 card and Vista not too long ago. However I don't expect to be able to upgrade for a while so I wanted something that would last 2-3 years.
    "Dude you're getting a Dell." Obscure curse from the early 21st Century, ascribed to a minor demon-spirit known as "Stephen?" [sp].

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member CrazyCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, Milwaukee
    Posts
    3,045
    Quote Originally Posted by MadPistol
    You are correct. Neither of them are DX10 but they only work on Vista. I'm just waiting for some group to crack this "problem". I'm sure it can be done.
    I have Halo 2 and Shadow run both running on my XP machine Sorry I don't think I can post how here....IM me if you wana know how.. or my yahoo crazycrusher3000..
    EVGA GTX 470
    OCZ 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3
    EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SLI
    COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black
    Intel tel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core

  10. #10
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    4,725
    Judging by the first DX10 benchmarks that are out there, both the 8800 series and the 2900 cards both do horrible when it comes to DX10. I liken it to the FX series cards capability of running DX9.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member MadPistol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In your thoughts, or AL
    Posts
    1,359
    Quote Originally Posted by MJCfromCT
    Judging by the first DX10 benchmarks that are out there, both the 8800 series and the 2900 cards both do horrible when it comes to DX10. I liken it to the FX series cards capability of running DX9.
    Those DX10 benchmarks are run on DX9 games that were patched to DX10. Supposedly, designing a game for DX10 from the ground up will yield much higher performance. Supposedly, this is how Crysis will be, so it will run superbly in DX10 mode.
    Core 2 Duo E6600 | eVGA 680i SLI | eVGA 8800 GTX | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair XMS2 2GB PC2-6400 800mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | Western Digital 500GB Caviar HDD | OCZ GameXStream 700-watt PSU | 24" Acer X241W LCD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •