Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Buying memory - Corsair, Kingmax or Mushkin

Buying memory - Corsair, Kingmax or Mushkin

I'm curious what the preference would be on the following memory options:

Mushkin SP PC2-6400 CL5-5-5-12 (P/N# 996529) @ ~$645
    Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-12 (P/N# TWIN2X2048-6400) @ $781
    Kingmax PC6400 DDR2 800MHz (P/N# KLDD48F-2K) @ $480

I'm buying in Canada by the way and this is what i've come up with so far based on availability...

The Kingmax stuff is appealing based on price, but I have limited experience with the brand - only bought it once before for some DDR memory a few years back. I run Corsair ValueSelect in my home machines and have been pleased, but the XMS2 stuff is pretty expensive in comparison.

Anyway, i'm looking to load two C2D E6300 systems with 4GB for running vmware, several bloated apps and other development work.

Thanks.

How much RAM are you talking here, 2GB or 4GB?
    Thank God we're not getting all of the government we're paying for!

looking to put 4GB in each box.

I've always had good results with Corsair. Got a question for you. Is your O/S 64 bit? Otherwise you'll be wasting money on anything over 3GB. 32 bit O/S won't go 4GB

A lean, mean 32-bit computin' machine can only have about 3.2GB max after the OS has had first dibs on the RAM. I bought 4GB for this new computer and found out the hard way. It's not worth it for me to go with 64-bit XP, but after a while when Vista comes down in price I'll be set up for that.

I'm aware of the limitations. One machine is running XP Pro SP2 at the moment and the other is currently running RHEL5 Desktop, but that will probably change to a different flavour. Vista isn't too far down the road either, and hardware is always being repurposed...

Any other thoughts on Corsair vs Mushkin vs Kingmax? Anyone have any experience with Kingmax memory?