Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Copying a Bootable Partition

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Petawawa, Ontario
    Posts
    217

    Copying a Bootable Partition

    Hey there,

    Is there any way I can copy a primary bootable partition on to a new hard drive and still be able to boot from it? I've tried with Partition Magic and have had no luck, I'm going insane with this. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Symantec Ghost, Acronis, Bart PE with Ghost, every hard drive manufacturers' hard drive test utility. Should I go on?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Petawawa, Ontario
    Posts
    217
    Well I've used several but the problem is that the Windows XP HAL file seems to always get messed up. So I'm guessing it's something changing in the MBR that Windows doesnt like.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,375
    "HAL file seems to always get messed up"

    In what way? How do you know it relates to HAL? Do you have an error message I can work with?

    You are restoring the image to the same system - yes? Otherwise HAL would be messed up as the HAL file will not be applicable to the new hardware components in the new from old computer.

  5. #5
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Copying a hard drive from one drive to a new drive works perfectly every time as long as the hard drive is the ONLY thing that changes.

    Upgrading an entire system by copying an old drive to a new system will rarely work without at least a Windows repair install after.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    367
    If you clone a hard drive using Norton Ghost, you cannot boot from it unless you fix the MBR. FDISK /MBR will do the trick.

  7. #7
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Of course you can boot from it. I have NEVER had to do a FDISK /MBR yet.

    A drive to drive copy is a perfect duplicate of every file.

  8. #8
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Clone with this:

    http://www.runtime.org/dixml.htm

    This is important! - do NOT leave the old drive in when you reboot. Reboot with the cloned drive only the first time and be sure that it's the primary master or SATA1. Add the old drive (for formatting) *as a slave or secondary master* after you've made sure that the new drive boots properly.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  9. #9
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    What function did you use in Partition Magic to copy a drive? I don't see that available in version 8.05. I can copy a partition, but not a drive.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •