Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Problem running HP System Restore discs...HELP!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23

    Problem running HP System Restore discs...HELP!!

    I'll try to make a long story as short as possible...

    My mom was having trouble with her PC, an HP running Windows XP. I don't know what led up to it, but by the time I got there it wouldn't reboot. It would just show a message "We apologize for the inconvienience but windows did not start successfully..." and then options for safe mode, last known good configuration, etc., none of which would work.

    So I got her HP System Restore discs and tried to reinstall everything.

    About halfway through the restore process, I got this error message;

    "Problem in extracting process:
    File: WINDOWS\Help\SBSI\Training\WXPPer\Content\Wave\U1L 1Fe.wav"

    I clicked "ok" and then I got the blue screen...

    "A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen..."

    etc etc

    So I called HP Tech Support and they walked me through reformating the HD, thinking that would solve the problem.

    Then I tried the restore discs again and I got to about the same place in the process and then got this error message;

    "Problem in extracting process:
    File: WINDOWS\Help\SBSI\Training\WXPPer\Content\Lib\L16_ C.LDZ"


    Ok, at this point I am just completely in over my head and don't know what to try next. What type of problem does this sound like?? ANY ideas?

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    first things first. did you run a scan of the ram and hdd?

    Tech Tools

    use memtest and the hdd manufacturer's diags (NOT HP)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte
    first things first. did you run a scan of the ram and hdd?

    Tech Tools

    use memtest and the hdd manufacturer's diags (NOT HP)

    No, but can I do that from the blue screen? I'm probably just in over my head here.

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    download UBCD. the link is on tech tools. it is a bootable disc. many times, the bluescreens are caused by bad ram or a bad hdd. no sense in busting your brains doing the restore if the hardware is bad.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    I guess I want the UBCD 4 Windows (the full version)?

    What exactly will that do?

  6. #6
    Member Newbie2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    188
    It could be bad RAM, bluescreens are sometimes because of bad RAM. A bad hard drive could be the culprit, since my previous system was an HP and a two months after purchase the hard drive went bad. No bluescreens, it just can't load Windows, even with repeated HP System Recovery installs. Had to get a new hard drive for that thing, and it worked.

  7. #7
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    no you want UBCD. NOT UBCD4Win. like I said, it is a bootable CD. you just need to burn the UBCD iso file. UBCD4Win requires way more work.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    Well, I made the disc, but there are so many choices I'm not sure which parts to run. Are there some specific diagnostics that you'd suggest? Will the problem be fairly clear once it's found by the tests on the UBCD?

  9. #9
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    i told you to run memtest and the hard drive manufacturer's diagnostics. memtest should be option f1 then f4

    if it's an ide hdd but you don't know the brand, then you can run powermax 4.09. f2 then 1

    if you look in the bios, it should tell you the brand of the hdd.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte
    i told you to run memtest and the hard drive manufacturer's diagnostics. memtest should be option f1 then f4

    if it's an ide hdd but you don't know the brand, then you can run powermax 4.09. f2 then 1

    if you look in the bios, it should tell you the brand of the hdd.

    ok, thanks

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    ok, I'm running Memtest86 V3.2 (f1 - f5)

    (there was also a Memtest86+ V1.65)

    Is there anything in particular that I should be watching for as it's running?

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    this Memtest has been running for over 11 hours, is that typical?

  13. #13
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    you need to manually stop it. i usually let it run for a couple of passes. if you don't see errors, then you should be ok.

    run the hdd diag.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    Ok, I think I'm getting somewhere now. I ran it on my working computer just to see what to expect. Then when I ran it on the non-working computer the list of errors is over 15,000 in just the first two minutes of the test.

    I guess this means the RAM is the problem?

  15. #15
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    you mean you were running it on a known good computer? um, yeah then it probably wouldn't have found errors.

    looks like you got bad ram. it could also be the motherboard, but swap the ram. now you know why i said "first things first".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •