Thread: PHP, ASP, VBScript, Javascript, XML, mySQL, and more...

Hybrid View

PHP, ASP, VBScript, Javascript, XML, mySQL, and more...

Hi all,

Recently I have gone on a learning binge, I want to learn PHP, mySQL, VBScript, Javascript, XML, ASP, and any other web-related languages and technologies that are used often enough to make them worth knowing. I was wondering if you kind folks could offer some tips, tricks, advice, or information on the subject matter.
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

Check out http://www.w3schools.com. I believe that they have *all* of those languages there. I don't think that they teach the advanced stuff though, but they're good on the basics and intermediate level. Good Luck

i think u should learn related subjects at a time...

like php and mysql, then vbscript and asp? and maybe javascript and xml... cause one language is already overwhelming haha... i think you leran most from having a project and trying to complete a goal

I'd start with PHP and MySQL. Both are well documented (on their respective websites, http://www.php.net and http://www.mysql.com, and in various books available at your favorite geeky bookstore) and relatively easy to learn. They also interface well with each other, and they're free. Many websites use them as an alternative to the Microsoft package of ASP and SQL Server. I've not yet run PHP on a Microsoft IIS machine (I use the Apache server) but I think it can be done. The Apache server is also free (see http://www.apache.org) and would be another good thing to be familiar with.

I'd also definitely learn Javascript along with PHP and MySQL. With these three skills you should be able to do just about anything, both on the server-side and the client-side. I'd really recommend just concentrating on these technologies for a bit.