Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: connecting through proxies

  1. #1

    connecting through proxies

    hi just woundering how i would tell internet explorer to connect through a chain of proxies? thanks.
    AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.7GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440

  2. #2
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    Why would you be using a chain of proxies? Isn't one enough?

  3. #3
    just that i was reading on the web it will hide your ip better.
    AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.7GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440

  4. #4
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    one proxy should be enough, but that's up to you. multiple firewalls is a good idea for a corporate level environment, but multiple proxies would cause some routing issues.

    you'd have to set a single proxy from within your browser, then set the proxy servers to forward information to each other.

  5. #5
    Mod w/ an attitude Sterling_Aug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Schuylkill Haven, PA 1797
    Posts
    12,786
    And who are you trying to hide your IP address from?

    Your IP address is 213.107.xxx.xxx

    Oh yea, I can see you but the other users can't........

  6. #6
    Senior Member TARP2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    522
    Originally posted by Sterling_Aug
    And who are you trying to hide your IP address from?

    Your IP address is 213.107.xxx.xxx

    Oh yea, I can see you but the other users can't........

    I think I know who He wants to hide his IP from. Answer the guy. It is a legitamite question.
    And leave my IP out of it.

    Tarp

  7. #7
    duno really just something to do. maybe the isp. and thats where youre wrong its not 213.107.xxx.xxx starts with 81.xxxxxxxx
    AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.7GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,711
    Originally posted by TARP2
    I think I know who He wants to hide his IP from. Answer the guy. It is a legitamite question.
    And leave my IP out of it.

    Tarp
    Yeah, that's it, get lippy with a Mod.

    Oh, and I don't think you can actually hide your entire IP address. But I think Zone Alarm has the ability to hide the last segment.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member cdroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    in limbo
    Posts
    1,741
    Some info for you about proxies

    http://www.anonymitychecker.com/index.html

    If you go through an anonymous proxy the admins will not know your actual address but that of the anonymous proxy. The proxy will know your IP though.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Ghostsurf should be able to do what your after, without the need for you to configure the client (your machine) for a proxy.

    --Jakk

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member cdroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    in limbo
    Posts
    1,741
    Originally posted by Bigjakkstaffa
    Ghostsurf should be able to do what your after, without the need for you to configure the client (your machine) for a proxy.

    --Jakk

    How is that app going to hide your actual IP when it is originating from your actual IP?
    The only way it can do that is to route through a true anonymous proxy that will replace "HTTP_FORWARDED_FOR" and "REMOTE_ADDR" entries and replace the actual IP address with its own.

    If you want to see if your address is actually being hidden try this link
    http://www.computercops.biz/modules.php?name=Reveal_IP
    Last edited by cdroman; 03-22-2005 at 05:06 PM.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Originally posted by cdroman
    How is that app going to hide your actual IP when it is originating from your actual IP?
    The application routes your internet usage through the companies own Anonymous Proxies.

    It's not the sort of thing i would reccomend paying for (for starters it only seems to apply to Browser usage and only IE, Netscrape and Opera - not Mozilla/Firefox, which i use most often these days) unless your a real paranoid type (its got cookie blockign and the liek as well) - but then i got it free on a cover-disk so i quite like it.

    Indeed, with it running, Castlecops didnt get my RealIP (in IE6 - in Firefox it did for the reasosn explained above), and failed to pick up on the fact it was getting the IP of a Proxy instead.

    --Jakk

  13. #13
    Member Kandar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    475
    I wouldn't bother for several reasons:

    1) Remote proxies can slow down your browsing to the point where you can go and make a cup of tea whilst the page loads.

    2) Most people couldn't give a monkies what your IP address is anyway.

    3) Its not imposible for someone who really wants to know your IP to trace it.

    4) If your doing anything dodgy, governemt agencies can force the Proxy servers to surrender thier logs or they can place a trace on you as you browse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •