Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46

Thread: HL2 Already In Gamers Hands

  1. #1
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725

    HL2 Already In Gamers Hands

    well, aside from those of you who have preloaded, that is

    http://www.gamespot.com/news/2004/11...s_6113002.html

    Of course, it won't mean anything because you cannot play until steam activates it.

    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  2. #2
    Senior Member Vitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    753
    Not if the guy cracks it.

  3. #3
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    From what it looks like, this game will not be able to be cracked very easily. Considering how most games get cracked weeks and weeks before their release, and this game is 3 days away from release and has yet to pop up in the warez community is promising. I believe that this is due to the steam authentication. It in effect makes HL2 as hard to crack as any other multiplayer game. While single player games have always been easy to pirate, multiplayer games that need to communicate with a server somewhere have not been as easy. That being said, it isn't impossible, but a lot more difficult.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member germanNiklas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Germany/Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,404
    muhahaha if i see that poor sucker im so happy that i bought the dvd version . . . . have fun changing 6 times the cd
    ASUS A8N-E Motherboard : AMD X2 4800+ CPU : 2 GB Kingston ValueRAM : ATI EAX 1950XTX : Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    912
    Why couldn't he play it now? They aren't going to ostrasize the people who don't have internet connections to play a single player game.
    Visionology Interactive Media
    http://www.visim.com

  6. #6
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    He cannot play now because the install needs to be authenticated by steam in order to be played.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member germanNiklas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Germany/Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,404
    Originally posted by BadBadNeil
    Why couldn't he play it now? They aren't going to ostrasize the people who don't have internet connections to play a single player game.

    Originally posted by MJCfromCT
    He cannot play now because the install needs to be authenticated by steam in order to be played.

    now thats a good point nail didnt think about that yet

    what u mean with authenticated . . . u need to be online then dont u?????

    so ppl who dont have internet suffered or what
    ASUS A8N-E Motherboard : AMD X2 4800+ CPU : 2 GB Kingston ValueRAM : ATI EAX 1950XTX : Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music

  8. #8
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    You will need an internet connection to install and activate the game. There are ways around this, such as registering the game on another computer with access to the internet and steam, copying over a specific file to your computer, and being able to play. Valve is working on this now.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  9. #9
    Senior Member Vitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    753
    Sounds more and more like windows installation .

  10. #10
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Its perfectly fine for people with an internet connection. Valve made a decision to cut down on piracy by sacrificing the convienence of a few gamers who still do not have internet connections. Its a sign of the times, and a sign that those without the internet are behind them.
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    912
    Yeah that is some screwy stuff if it's true.

    Just like they don't assume everyone has a AMD64 or 2GB ram they shouldn't assume everyone has the internet. Perhaps if it was an online only game I'd understand more.

    It probably won't cut down on piracy much though. Someone will just get the update and package it with a pirated release.
    Visionology Interactive Media
    http://www.visim.com

  12. #12
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Considering when games like Halo 2 and San Andreas were leaked compared to their release dates, Half Life 2 is looking very good. Also, the Source engine is a very scalable thing. If you look at the minimum requirements for Half Life 2, you will see that they are a lot less than an AMD64 and 2GB ram...
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  13. #13
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Here it is straight from the box:

    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Although im planning on getting it in the next few days, my current lack of internet connection means im gonna have to buy a 56k modem and then cart my PC aroudn to my mates (20 mins walk away) to use his line... either that or crack it.

    And to think, my dad will be sat at home tomorrow mornign playing MY copy

    --Jakk

  15. #15
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    WPI, Worcester MA
    Posts
    4,725
    Welcome Jakk
    2x Dell 2007WFP | A8N-E | X2 4600+ | 8800GTS 640 MB | 2 GB DDR400 | 3.07 TB | CD-RW/DVD±RW/DVD-RAM
    My Website | My DeviantART | My Spyware/Virus Removal Guide

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •