Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: how fast? Quadro FX1100?

  1. #1
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613

    how fast? Quadro FX1100?

    How fast is a 128Mb Quaddro FX1100 for gaming?

    What would it's equivalent Geforce / Radeon be? Purely for gaming?

    thanks,
    LostBok

  2. #2
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    4,725
    The Quadro and FireGL cards are optimized for 3d professional applications, not gaming...I think they would do poorly in gaming situations.

  3. #3
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    Not sure if this stlil applies, but for the older Quadro cards they used to be much the same - they're just the same GeForce core, but where some of the extra OpenGL instruction sets haven't been disabled as they are in the gaming flavour of the cards...

    The GeForce cards are then overclocked and have extra-fast memory put on them, while the Quadro's run those same core's at lower GPU and RAM speeds, hence less cooling, better stability, etc.

    I can probably try to sus it out - work out which GPU core they each use, what speed it is running at and the memory speeds, # of pipelines, etc.... but thought somebody else might have done it already.

  4. #4
    PC Aficionado MJCfromCT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    4,725
    Last edited by MJCfromCT; 09-13-2004 at 01:56 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    That kind of hits the spot.... main thing I'm after is something like QuadroFX1100 3dmark03 scores...

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    I used to own a Quadro 4 900 XGL and a G4 4200 ti at 4600 speeds. The Quadro didn't perform as well as the 4200 even at stock speeds in many instances. It was still playable, but not at the same resolutions or it was choppy - on the 4200 even at stock things would be smooth. Now run the proffesional software on the 4200 ti, and the reverse happens. Prof. apps run a bit slower (or not fully functioning feature wise) on a 4200 yet run a bit better on the quadro along with having a few extra instructions, and those extra instructions may not make it much faster in general, but it makes it look better.

    Gaming cards are for gaming, professional cards for professional applications. Yes a quadro 4 is "old," so is a 4200 ti, but both were new at the time and played all the old D8 titles.

    I'd assume the professional cards to be 5% to 20% slower on average - at least pulling from my experiences with the quadro 4 and G4.

    I haven't dug into the tech specs of profesional cards in so long so I can't say how it'll perform as I can't even tell you how many pipelines or vertex shaders it has per line let alone the core and memory speeds to draw a comparison to a gaming cards.

  7. #7
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    Thanks SS - I'm after that sort of info for the FX1100.

    That gives me some idea of what it ought to compare to.

    Think I'll just swap it over and let it run a few benchmarks.

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    If you already have it, that would be the best way to find out as your system will be different from the test system or from the system on orb (do they put prof cards up?)

  9. #9
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    not seen them, but looking.

  10. #10
    Hired Geek fishybawb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,371
    Here's a good article - a bit old, but it gives a decent comparison of various workstation cards and gaming ones:

    http://www.3dchips.net/content/review.php?id=63

  11. #11
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    I found that one already - sadly also all CAD marks, not gaming marks.

  12. #12
    Evil Lurks NDD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Inner Mongolia
    Posts
    6,576
    FX1100 uses NV36GL GPU, NV36 is FX5700
    And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers

  13. #13
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    ND, you leg-end, that's what I was after!! ""

    Does anybody know where it fits in the range when you consider clock speeds, memory bandwidths, fill rates, etc?

  14. #14
    Senior Member LostBok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    613
    I might just be better off flogging this one for 250, buying a GF59xx and pocketing 100 - considering I really DON'T need the 3D cad features....

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    You most definantly would be better off.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •