Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sygate firewall???

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member bblqj78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,187

    Sygate firewall???

    Did a new install of XP today and installed Sygate Personnel Firewall Pro and AVG AV(free edition). Everything updated and the Sygate security scans said my computer was un-accessable by the Trojan test etc.
    In the last hour or two...I have recieved many of these pop-up adds through The windows messenger service advertising girls and their web pages...you know the ones...they just appear. So I shut down the messenger service and that seems to have solved that for now. Then I picked up a trojan virus for some weird reason...and AVG deleted it. I have never had many of these problems before (just though Kazza - which I wont use now).
    Anyway...me thinks the firewall aint operating as it should do.....any ideas????
    I used ZoneAlarm Pro before and never had any problems.

  2. #2
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    I'm assuming you're on broadband...
    Do you have a router?

    A router with a software firewall is the ticket...

    Nadda problem here in a long time.

    Next...
    When you say "new" do you mean format and install, or repair install?

    Did you install ad aware and spybot, update 'em, and run 'em?

    Do you have the latest Windows Security patches and fixes?

    Service pack 1 installed?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    29
    ditto regarding AV updates and XP patches. that being said u may want to try this troubleshooting technique, at least for the short term.

    in sygate (5.5 build 2525) goto:

    tools>options>security and enable
    1)"Enable Driver Level Protection"
    2)"Enable DLL Authentication"
    3)"Automatically allow known DLLs"
    4)then reset all fingerprints for all applications.

    from this point on any request or demand made upon ur system will be flagged and u can accept each one as they notify u. this is extremly annoying in the begining but they become less frequent as soon as u start to accept/decline requests from DLLs, thereby educating ur firewall

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member bblqj78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,187
    I'm assuming you're on broadband...
    Na man....not yet...my area aint upgraded to ADSL till July.

    I have installed XP SP1 but havenet installed any more of the updates....I never had any problems before with SP1 only...should I update with all patches? Its a bit of a drag on dial-up

    I havent yet installed Ad-aware....but will tonight.

    Will try the Sygate options also...

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Search in here, bb.
    There is a post in here about getting a free Microsoft CD with all pathches...etc.

    Free shipping, free CD.

    You need the patches, as they are for closing security holes....but, I can understand on dial up....

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member bblqj78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,187
    OK here it goes........

    Uninstalled Sygate and went back to Zonealarm Pro....I kinda like that Firewall. I understand its simplicity better than some of the others....and for me in the past it has done a very good job!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •