Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Does size matter?? (Aperture that is)

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member mobo57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    In a So Cal Tube
    Posts
    1,971

    Does size matter?? (Aperture that is)

    Ok, common knowledge says to set your aperture size to ½ of your system memory. Thought I’d test the theory. Two systems, my best and my worst, both at stock settings.
    System one:
    MSI K7N2 Delta ILSR Mobo
    AMD 3200 XP, Vantec Aeroflow
    1 gig Corsair XMS 3200C2PT DDR
    ATI 9800 Pro 128 meg, Arctic Cooler
    Win 2k Pro SP4

    System two:
    FIC AM37 Mobo
    AMD 2400, stock cooler
    512 PC 2700 Samsung
    BFG Ti 4200 128 meg 8x
    Win 2K Pro SP4

    Testing criteria: 3dMark 01se and 3dMark 03. Each test was looped 4 times, so results are averages. Delta is over the slowest results.
    Results:

    System 1
    Aperture 3D 01 SE 3D 03 AGP X Delta 01 Delta 03
    32 18127 5785 8 101.73% 100.00%
    128 17819 5797 8 100.00% 100.21%
    512 18040 5800 8 101.24% 100.26%
    512 17986 5785 4 100.94% 100.00%

    System 2
    16 8976 1436 4 103.58% 114.06%
    64 9047 1417 4 104.40% 112.55%
    256 8925 1306 4 102.99% 103.73%
    256 8666 1259 1 100.00% 100.00%


    Hey Guys, guess what….looks like size doesn’t matter!!! Actually for the slower system, smaller is better!! Go figure!

    Your results may vary, professional on a closed course, please don’t try this at home, unless you have way too much time on your hands like I do right now. Sorry about the table, someday I'll figure out how to make a nice looking one.
    Last edited by mobo57; 04-30-2004 at 03:09 PM.
    Profanity: a weak mind trying to express itself forcibly.
    http://www.thegopnet.com

  2. #2
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member mobo57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    In a So Cal Tube
    Posts
    1,971
    Good article. Maybe I'll dig through my big box o' parts and find an old 16 meg 3dfx card and give it a test. That should really tell, that is if I can locate the drivers for it.
    Profanity: a weak mind trying to express itself forcibly.
    http://www.thegopnet.com

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    Your using a synthetic benchmark for comparing aperture size - nothing wrong with it, just you have to remember that your only running a couple of programs, both designed by the same company and one is outdated and the other just doesn't use up enough memory compared to FarCry and other intensive upcoming titles. From most "studies" I've read on forums or as legit articles it depends greatly on the application running. 16 to 32 megs, depending on card, is generally considered the minimum necessary to enable certain features (on the G3/G4 series/8500 - 9200). I agree with the article though that 128 is optimal, if you can afford higher, it doesn't hurt unless you have a lower end vid card as it never will be able to address it all. Higher resolutions, increased eyecandy, and filtering also can raise the amount needed to be addressed. At 03' with no AA/AF at 1024x768 your definantly not stressing the card's frame buffer much.

    The best way to find out what is best for you system and your games is to actually test and see. With games it can be hard, but making large jumps can make it a bit more noticeable. D/Ling game benchmarks like the FarCry one or the Unreal one would give you a better look at how the aperture works with a specific engine and let's you know if your losing performance with too small an aperture.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member mobo57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    In a So Cal Tube
    Posts
    1,971
    Ok ran UT 03 benchmark on system 1: (all at 1600X1200 highest res)
    32 meg ap: Flyby 136 Bot 82
    512 meg: Flyby 138.5 Bot 81.9
    So????
    Anybody else?? I'll compile results and let's see.
    Last edited by mobo57; 04-30-2004 at 07:54 PM.
    Profanity: a weak mind trying to express itself forcibly.
    http://www.thegopnet.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member MrBurns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    642
    I have a GeForce 4 Ti 4600 w/ 8xAGP and 128MB. The best results I have are w/ the max. of 512MB. Here are my results:

    Aperture Size /3DMark01/3DMark03/Aquamark3
    32MB/14029/1779/21740
    64MB/14234/1808/22192
    128MB/14210/1803/22206
    256MB/14215/1894/22208
    512MB/14241/1896/22208

    I also made a graphic w/ excel:


  7. #7
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    Nice job, looks like a decent picture is getting compiled here. Have you tried different resolutions or running with AA or AF? At the benches default 128 overall seems to be the avg. sweetspot.

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    In reality, not massively, that said dont set it eeny peeny or performance will take a severe hit, likewise dont set it too high. A lot of it is also application specific, for example Far Cry seems to like a setting of 256mb for the AGP appature. Indeed at present the average optimal settings seems to be 128/256

  9. #9
    Senior Member MrBurns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    642
    Originally posted by Someone Stupid
    Nice job, looks like a decent picture is getting compiled here. Have you tried different resolutions or running with AA or AF? At the benches default 128 overall seems to be the avg. sweetspot.
    I dont really use AA and AF often, because I like higher resolutions more and there are not a lot games that I can play w/ 1600x1200 and AA or AF. This is why I didnt make any tests w/ AA or AF.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •