Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Case Study: Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2.3GHz

  1. #1
    Your Friendly Editor
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    82

    Case Study: Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2.3GHz

    Use this forum thread to discuss SysOpt's case study of fishybawb's Athlon XP 2500+ custom build.
    SysOpt's Illustrious Editor

  2. #2
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    CJE...is there something wrong with this link...taking forever...

  3. #3
    Senior Member FrnchDp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Across the street
    Posts
    602
    ..and ever.. and I'm on high speed!

    there's either a glitch or lots of pikkis.. and I mean LOTS!

    "Why is it drug addicts and computer aficionados are both called users?" - C. Stoll

  4. #4
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    I like it...FB.

    After building three Asus A7N8X Dlxe/2500XP combos, ranging from wild to mild, I just got the funding to build an Abit based PC...for a coworker's PC.
    Looking forward to it...should have all parts by next week..!!!

  5. #5
    Hail to the Victors dajogejr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Metro-Detroit
    Posts
    5,224
    Cool...glad it's not just me.
    Yep...on a T1 here at work, all other sites are just fine!


    EDIT**

    Ok, now it's just fine...what gives??



  6. #6
    Your Friendly Editor
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    82
    server problems at the moment. There are actually only 3 small pix. We're working on it!!
    SysOpt's Illustrious Editor

  7. #7
    The Burninator sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,566
    Is it just me, or am I missing the point of this article?

    I saw the title "Case Study" and figured it would be a comparison of temperatures among different cases with the same hardware.

    Maybe one ought to be done???

  8. #8
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    That wouldn't be hard. The case stye is very popular and comes in Antec, Chieftec, Chenming and Thermaltake flavors.

    Nice quickie wiring there, Fishy.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,723
    The admins here either need to completely get rid of that "overclockers database" or give it a major revamp... It serves no usefull purpose becuase the majority of it is false.

  10. #10
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Yeah - it's pretty lame.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member scottluebke2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Posts
    1,252
    You gotta love it when someone posts about wanting to build a new system and overclocking a 5 year old Duron 550 to 9.9ghz!!! always good for a laugh.
    ~A life without Jesus is a life that's never fixed~

  12. #12
    Senior Member megaspazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    rehab with Lindsay, again
    Posts
    570
    Great article fishybawb. Only neg thing I can say is that the inner case pics seem to be upside down.

    (or maybe I'm just tanked again! )


    --'spazz



    btw: any issues with stability at all?
    Last edited by megaspazz; 02-20-2004 at 03:53 AM.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member Someone Stupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,133
    Adding a SB cooler wasn't a waste of time on that board from what I've read. While the MCP-T chip doesn't get hot, it seems from reading other forums, mainly in overclocking, that adding it, while not really boosting stability does increase the lifespan of the MCP-T which seems to start going nuts even at slightly warm temps which leads to sound going down the dumpster. If I used it on my Albatron, I'd stick a sink on it even though it stays "cool."

    On a side note Fishybawb, how have those two Albatron system you've built held up? Well I hope.

  14. #14
    Member spyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    246
    How did you get a 3dmark2001 score of 16500?
    I have pretty much the exact set up as you and only get 13500 and my video card is overclocked a bit more than yours 460/340. The only other difference is my ram timings 8,4,4,2.5 which can't possibley make up 3000 more points. Either there's something really wrong with my pc or you miss typed that score.

    Anyone get a simmilar score? If so I need some help configuring my bios settings.

    My 3dmark2003 is around the 3800 mark.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    S. Williamsport, PA.,USA
    Posts
    50
    Originally posted by spyman
    How did you get a 3dmark2001 score of 16500?
    I have pretty much the exact set up as you and only get 13500 and my video card is overclocked a bit more than yours 460/340. The only other difference is my ram timings 8,4,4,2.5 which can't possibley make up 3000 more points. Either there's something really wrong with my pc or you miss typed that score.

    Anyone get a simmilar score? If so I need some help configuring my bios settings.


    I'd say that score was possible considering I am scoring around 14,850 w/ a Radeon 9500Pro overclocked and a Tbred B running around 2400Mhz.

    All else being about equal, 3DMark01 is quite FSB sensitive and scales pretty linearly with FSB increases. My FSB is 188, his is 209. That's around an 11% advantage and he's beating my score by around 11%.

    That score seems plausible to me.

    I'm scoring 4500 in 3DMark03 though

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •