Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 1600 xp/9800pro

  1. #1
    Member samdbugman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    fairborn,ohio
    Posts
    79

    1600 xp/9800pro

    I have an amd 1600 xp on a k7s5a mobo...Inow have a 9800pro 126 mb, up from a g4 ti 4200....will i get an increase in preformance if i upgrade to 24oo xp? Thanks....sam
    my first build...ecs k7s5a...amd 1600 xp processor...512 mb pc2100 ddr ram...maxtor 30 gb 7200 hdd...msi g4 ti 4200 128 mb video card...game surround muse xl sound card...pioneer #116 dvd rom...pacific digital cd-rw... windows xp home

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    STL, MO
    Posts
    215
    yes for sure...actually get a barton 2500 and overclock it to 3200+ rated and youll see some great performance. If you do that though I would get some pc3200 ram.

  3. #3
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    The K7S5A can't support a Barton, unfortunately. The 2400+ is the max.

    Update the BIOS before you install a 2400+.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Yup the 2400+ will give a decent performace hike, however the 1600Xp+ isnt senile yet. If i were you i would upgrade to a decent motherboard with good future compatibility and overlcocking feature (nforce 2 anyone) keep the XP1600+ and squeeze a little more out of it by overclocking and then get an Xp2500+ Barton at a later date

    --Jakk

  5. #5
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    Um - he would have to get a new motherboard too.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Originally posted by Bigjakkstaffa
    Y If i were you i would upgrade to a decent motherboard with good future compatibility and overlcocking feature (nforce 2 anyone)
    As opposed to upgrading based around the existing ECS *spits* board

    --Jakk

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member Imperion1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Offworld
    Posts
    4,292
    As long as the k7s5a will accept an fsb increase to 166, it will run a 2500+. Just, not officially.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    66
    Jakk - I've got an Epox 8K3A+ Motherboard, which I've heard isn't all that great (got it about 1 1/2 years ago), 1 GB PC2700 RAM, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, and an Athlon XP 2000. What would you recommend or should I just holdout for the Athlon 64 bit processors to drop in price and go that route? Every title I own right now runs awesome at 1280x1024 and 4XAA/16XAF.

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    a) You should really have started a new thread for the new question.

    b) That system is fine, as, liek you say, its still shifting everything fine, you would be right in waiting a while longer, however in samdbugman's case, the motherboard and CPU are getting on a bit, hence the reccomendation to upgrade the motherboard as it is the spine of the system and thus is the foundation for future upgrades

    --Jakk

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,723
    I personally don't think you'll notice much of a difference with the exception of using AA and AF as that 1600+ will be bottlenecking the 9800 Pro by quite a lot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •