Thread: New Athlon XP 2500+ running hot

New Athlon XP 2500+ running hot

Hey, all; Newbie here.

I've just finished putting together my first system:

AMD Athlon XP 2500+
    MSI KT6 Delta MoBo
    512 MB PC2700 DDR
    Generic case with 400 W PSU, one system fan venting to the back below the PSU.

I was thinking about trying to overclock, but based on the posts I've been reading here, it seems to be running hot. When I go to the BIOS and check the CPU temp, it's reading around 47*C; when I run some basic programs and use MBM 5 to check, I get temps up to 51-52* C.

I got a retail package CPU and used the HSF that came with it, along with the thermal interface material attached.

So, two questions: 1. Should I worry about these temps?
    2. If so, what can I do about it? (I suspect the answer is the HSF, but I want to be sure before I start taking things apart.)

Thanks in advance for any help.

JAS

Welcome to SysOpt!

Those temps aren't real bad but a bit high. I suspect that the "thermal pad" is causing warmer than normal temps. You would be better off to get some Artic Silver 3 (or 5) and use that (a VERY thin layer) instead. Good luck!