Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Windows XP Startup Lag

Windows XP Startup Lag

Hi, quite a while ago my pc began to take forever to startup. When i boot my pc it does all its stuff than takes me to my login screen, i choose my account and it takes me to my desktop. I see everything on my desktop but i cannot do anything until the windows startup tune plays, than i can finally do my work, i have to wait quite a while until it plays. My paint also takes forever to load (about 3minutes). Help would be much appreciated. Thx

Well I'm by no means an expert but if it were me, and my computer was experiencing ridiculously long loading times, even for just paint then I would scan it for viruses... like I say, I'm no expert.
    Do you maintain your system at all? i.e defrag regularly etc? How long have you had it? What's it used for? 'Cos I do know it's very possible for a system to experience slow down if there's alot of rubbish lurking around that's never used.
    Mine had a few problems, long start ups was one of them. A complete system format and reinstall of OS sorted it, no problem!

Maybe someone can offer better advice, but that's my opinion.

maybe hibernate instead of shut down and restart every now and then? hiberntion on my machine takes about 15 seconds to completely start up.

Check the condition of your hard drive. I had a similar problem of very long start-up times and long load times for certain apps and it was caused by a dying drive that had terrible uncached performance.

Originally posted by Radi0h3ad
    Well I'm by no means an expert but if it were me, and my computer was experiencing ridiculously long loading times, even for just paint then I would scan it for viruses... like I say, I'm no expert.
    Do you maintain your system at all? i.e defrag regularly etc? How long have you had it? What's it used for? 'Cos I do know it's very possible for a system to experience slow down if there's alot of rubbish lurking around that's never used.