Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Upgrading Rdram

Upgrading Rdram

Hi,

Im planning on upgrading my ram from 384 to 768. Right now I have 2 sticks of pc800 rdram of 64mb and 128mb. But now I hear all about DDR and I wonder if thats the way to go. I was going to buy 512 of PC600 512MB RDRAM KIT Syncmax cause it only sets me back $100 (thanx pricewatch.com). But this is going down to pc600 (whatever that means). Id like to save money, but im not really interested in buying a new board cause mine works fine and I like the philosophy of if it aint broke, dont fix it.

My CPU
    Dell 8100, p4 1.3g, Geforce 4 Ti4200 128mb, 384mb rdram pc800, 100gb drive,

My questions

Is Syncmax good ram?
    Should I upgrade?
    Is $100 for 512mb rdram too much?
    Is pc600 significantly slower than 1066?

Im a college student so money is an issue, but speed is obviously one too. I want to blow away my friends, but $100 is a lot to me. I dont have tons to spend so if it costs more than 150, it does me no good. Any help for this lost soul would be much appreciated.

you can't mix memory...like PC600 and PC800 cannot co exist.

how many memory slots do you have?

you will have to get a PC800 RDRAM...remember you have to match the speeds of memory(with those that are already installed).

like if it was 384MB PC600..you could have gone with that 512MB of PC600 but not with PC800.

just check at pricewatch you may get better deals.

sorry...forgot to mention...welcome to sysopt

the pc800 is much more expensive. Is it true that I cannot have 2 sticks of 128mb pc800 rdram and 2 sticks of pc600 rdram? And if I did this, would I be hurting my speed enough to not make it worth it?

I have 4 slots to expand into but I'm pretty sure I have to match ram. At least thats what dell says.

The pc600 will be slower, and you'd have to go with all pc600. Can't mix it with pc800. All the memory has to be the same speed (pc600 or 800).