Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Barton 2500 or Xp with 33FSB ? which one?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Terminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    743

    Barton 2500 or Xp with 333FSB ? which one?

    Got my new motherboard Asus A7N8X Deluxe , which is BRILL, and now looking to up the CPU from my Palimino 1800XP.

    I definitely want a 333FSB CPU.
    Current prices here in the UK are as follows:-

    2500 Barton = 110 +vat
    2600XP (333FSB) = 133+vat
    2700XP(333FSB) = 184+vat
    Barton 2800 = 255+vat


    I know this motherboard will unlock these chips without messing with any L1 bridges etc.

    I'm sure I read somewhere that the barton was based on the Hammer core...is this right?

    As you can see from the prices the Barton 2500 is VERY tempting especially as it will probably clock to Barton 2800 speed and save me 145+




    Any input as to the choice would be much appreciated.

    T

    Last edited by Terminator; 04-07-2003 at 10:53 AM.

  2. #2
    The Burninator sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,566
    If the 2500 Barton doesn't have a 333MHz FSB (I thought they all did), then I'd go for the 2600 that does, it's only a few quid more, and you have the ability to buy and use faster memory to help exploit your dual memory channels.

  3. #3
    Member bshplt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    271
    I`ve never heard of a Barton that doesn`t use 333 Mhz FSB.

    I have a 2500+ and I love it.

    I`ll try to overlclock tomorrow, finally I made up my mind..so it`s a go.

  4. #4
    The Burninator sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,566
    Yeah, on second thought I'd go with the 2500+. All Bartons can currently run on a 333MHz FSB. I don't know about the Barton being based on the Hammer core, but the extra L2 cache will give you a speed benefit.

  5. #5
    Member XtReAmTwEaKist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    408
    i'd say save you self some money and get an athlon cp tbred and oc it with good memory but my opinion
    Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.24 (178X12.5)
    512Mb DDR400 (Corsair)
    80Gb WD 8Mb Cache
    Radeon 9000 Pro 128mb DDR
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2
    SB Live! Value
    Intel NIC
    2 CD-RW 8x4x32 & 2x4x24 (im cheap)

    TwEaKist

  6. #6
    Senior Member Terminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    743
    Yep all Barton's are 333 FSB. Please post back bshplt on how successful your overclock of the Barton 2500 is.

    It was in a british magazine that claimed the Barton had the Hammer core but I don't think it does....I thought it was just a 333FSB XP core with more cache.

    Next will be either OCZ 512MB (2x256MB) PC3500 Dual Channel Series EL-DDR (ME-007-OC) memory or Corsair 512MB DDR XMS3200 TwinX (2x256MB) Platinum CAS2 (MY-017-CS)
    If the Barton 2500 will hit barton 2800 speeds then the money I save will pay for these memory modules.
    Thanks for the input

    T



  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Yeah, given the extra L2 and price to performance id go for the 2500+, although im none too sure on how well they o/c

    --Jakk

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member genesound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Studio City CA
    Posts
    1,840
    I just got a 2500+ a couple of days ago, pulled the unlocked 1800+ palamino out of my a7n8x dlx, and tossed the 2500+ in. It booted fine at 166x11, so I loaded win2k onto a new WD800JB, then immediately ran the multiplier up to 12.5 and it's runnin like a 2800+ no sweat at 33-36C (full seti load with a Thermalright SLK-800 hs) ever since. Cake.

    Today I flashed to the latest bios and it now IDs as a 2800+ to boot!

    As for an answer to your question, I'm not really sure which is better, it probably depends what you're going to do with it, judging from the reviews. I just made a decision and went with it... but the Barton sure is peppy and smooth even with seti going!
    Last edited by genesound; 04-08-2003 at 04:37 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Terminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    743
    Thanks genesound...exactly what I wanted to hear. That's it 2500 Barton it is.

    As for what I'm using my computer for...errrrr very varied...gaming/video editing/video recording from tv card etc......but if I was honest I just like having a fast computer

    By the way did you have to up the CPU core voltage? If so what did you up it to when you ran it at 12.5X multiplier?

    T


  10. #10
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,723
    The Barton is definatly NOT based on the hammer core. The Barton is identical to the tbred core with the exception that it has twice the L2 cache.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member Strawbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    4,706
    nForcersHQ.

    Later Bartons are expected to run a 400MHz.

    Last edited by Strawbs; 04-08-2003 at 11:48 AM.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member genesound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Studio City CA
    Posts
    1,840
    Originally posted by Terminator
    ... did you have to up the CPU core voltage? If so what did you up it to when you ran it at 12.5X multiplier?

    T

    I think at 166x12.5 it was either default or up one setting to 1.675v. It's running at 1.775v now at 12.5x174.


    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    The Barton 2500+ overclockign test at www.hardocp.com isnt too flattering at all

    They seemed to top out at 2ghz, although 200FSB was achievable... at 10X multiplier

    --Jakk

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member genesound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Studio City CA
    Posts
    1,840
    I didn't even try to get much fsb oc with my Kingston 2700 value ram, but I guess from what you're / they're saying 2170 from a 2500+ barton is pretty ok then
    Last edited by genesound; 04-08-2003 at 06:37 PM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Terminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    743
    Thanks for info...Barton 2500 should arrive tomorrow. Ordered it from www.overclockers.co.uk which are usually very selective on the chips they supply but will just have to wait and see...lets hope I get good'un.
    Will be very pleased with it running at Barton 2800 speeds.

    T


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •