Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Advice from the More Experienced -- Win2K or XP

Advice from the More Experienced -- Win2K or XP

Greetings,

After much lurking here with the SysOpt Forums, I am still undecided on which OS to migrate to (from Win 98SE). I have received opinions in both directions in other posts, but have not plainly heard any evidence upon which to make my own solid decision. So, I am asking those of you who are familiar with either (preferably both) Windows 2000 and XP (Pro versions), which one should I adopt.

To help you help me decide, here's some pertinent information about me.

1. I am a writer. All of my writing software is compatible with either OS, but I seek stability.
    2. I am an avid gamer.
    3. I have little time or patience for annoyances with my computer (one reason I have stuck with 98SE for so long - I know it and it works... It just doesn't make the most of my system now.) I want to turn my machine on and either write, game, or numb my mind online. I *don't* want to be hassled with OS glitches.
    4. My system specs:
    MSI 645 Ultra MOBO w/ 450W PS
    P4 1.6 GHz (moving to 2.6 shortly)
    1024MB PC2100 DDR
    Audigy Gamer
    Radeon 9700 PRO
    40GB HD
    Toshiba CDRW
    Cable Internet Connection
    Currently no other computers networked, but foresee need in future

Basically, given the information above, I am seeking thoughtful, well-reasoned advice on which OS to migrate to. So many of you have been helpful with other issues, for which I am thankful. I'm hoping to receive the same here.

Thanks, folks.

Sincerely,

-Mr. Underhill.

Ultimate Member
    Ok, both OS's are stable.

Everything that Microsoft makes tends to have glitches, its a fact of life.

But, for gaming, then you would have to go with XP. Its better for games than 2000.

Hope this helps

Ultimate Member
    But, for gaming, then you would have to go with XP. Its better for games than 2000.