Thread: FAT32 or NTFS

FAT32 or NTFS

Which file system should I use when I install my XP Pro OS? Not caring about accessing it with other OS. but which runs faster and smoother? I have no experience with NTFS file system yet. Thanks

FAT32 is much easier for when you have probs with the os.much easier to repair.

from memory I think FAT32 is faster as well.Im sure someone will correct me if that is wrong though.

In all honesty, for the average home user there is no difference what so ever.

Ultimate Member
    Fat 32 is much easier to reapir in case of a nuclear meltdown orsimilardisaster It is also marginally faster.

However NTFS has many more security features, important if you stare 'volatile' data, and fragments much less than FAT32.

Remember though you can convert from fat32 to NTFS at any time, but to go the other way around you will need to use a third party uitl

--Jakk

I would recomend NTFS. While FAT 32 is a bit faster, most notibly on older hardware, NTFS is much more bullet proof. You have very, very few problems with file system errors, I have been running NTFS on my XP box for well over a year and only have I had once had to run check disk because of any discrepences in the FS and those were easly fixed.

FAT32 is an enhanced version of the FAT file system that can be used on drives from 512 megabytes (MB) to 2 TB in size. The partition size limit is approximately 128GB. FAT and FAT32 offer compatibility with operating systems other than Windows 2000 and Windows XP. Also, FAT32 can be accessed by Win95B (OSR2, OSR2.1), Win95C (OSR2.5), Win98, Win98SE, WinME, Win2K and WinXP. It cannot be accessed by DOS (prior to version 7.0), Windows 3.x and Windows NT 4.0 (without the use of third party utilities).