Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Clock For Clock... AMD vs. Intel... again?! Yes, right here.

Clock For Clock... AMD vs. Intel... again?! Yes, right here.

Interesting article HERE for those that can't get enough. I ate this up, because I'm an AMD kinda guy...

same here...AMD all the way!
    "I'm no technical supervisor, I'm a supervising technician."
    --Homer Simpson

Yeah, AMD is faster clock cycle per cycle. But intel makes up with this with faster procs. If AMD ever gets the money to be seriously competitive with Intel and makes a proc as fast or faster it will be nice.

As fast as these processors have become, I'd take either one of them. It comes down to price.

Originally posted by Jimstep
    As fast as these processors have become, I'd take either one of them. It comes down to price.
    and do forget overclockability

tony_j15- I don't like how you say

and makes a proc as fast or faster it will be nice
    If you compare the new Barton 3000+ with the Intel 3Ghz chip they are bascially even. Both winning their benches and coming out around the same.

http://www.amdmb.com/article-display.php?ArticleID=224

Nothing in life is as certain as death, but death is not a wall but a doorway to a new adventure

As I see it, it does not matter HOW you get to stellar performance, so long as you get there. So what if AMD has a more performance for the clock? If INTEL makes it back up with faster clock it still comes out even. It's just a different approach to processor design. And don't tell me I'm an INTEL lover cause my 2 top PC's are AMD. AMD has to be cheaper to compete with INTEL market power so cheapscate tech junkies like myself can get more bang for buck with AMD.

Intel if you want reliability, heat protection, good hsf that comes with retail, easy hsf retention system(with NO chance to crack core), and pretty good overclockability(my 1.8 can get to 3.0 stable).

AMD if you want cheap, and overclockability.