Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Intel D815EEA2U MB and Celeron 1.2Ghz

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    149

    Intel D815EEA2U MB and Celeron 1.2Ghz

    Picked up an Intel D815EEA2U MB along with a Celeron 1.2Ghz.
    After reviewing the supported cpu's and specifications at these links:
    http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/ea2/ea2_proc.htm
    http://www.intel.com/design/motherb...a2_inst.htm#4.0
    I thought that the board would support a Celeron 1.2GHZ. Now after putting
    all together, i cant get the onboard video or AGP video working. Board seems
    to power up, fans spin etc. But no display.
    After checking out the revision numbers required for support of the Celeron
    1.2 it appears i screwed up. My revision # is A55991-803. I thought with the
    Universal version of the board that it would support the Higher speed
    Celeron's.
    I guess im curious as to whether anyone thinks it possible that i fried
    either the CPU or MB buy powering up the MB with the Celeron 1.2
    After the unsuccessful attempt, i tried a P3 933 chip which is definitely
    supported by the MB, and had the same problem with no video.
    After reading through the Intel link above, im thinking that maybe the MB
    was defective to begin with but????
    Im debating on whether i should attempt exchanging the board for one that
    shows clear support for the Celeron 1.2 or trying another Intel MB.
    The MB shows support for Tualtin P3's. The Celeron 1.2Ghz is the .13 micron
    chip and its a FC-PGA2.
    Isnt Tualatin and FC-PGA2 the same thing?
    I talked to Intel support twice tonight, and they had me do a few checks.
    The first was to check for 3 beeps with just the CPU installed.
    I got the 3 beeps with both the Cel 1.2 and the P3 933 installed. Supposedly
    if you get the 3 beeps it means the CPU has initialized. I then slapped the
    memory back in, and still couldn't get a display as before.
    Intel thinks its either board or memory related. I tried another stick of
    PC133 SDR in it , and same results. Gotta be the MB i think, but im still
    having trouble finding a MB that shows support for the Celerons 1.2Ghz or higher.
    I went to this link that the Intel tech provided (great site for matching
    MB's to CPU's)
    http://appzone.intel.com/boards/index.asp
    Did a search for MB's that supported a Celeron greater or = to 1A
    I got a number of results but all of them show similar details for the
    boards listed.
    No clarity there, they all show >=1A but then <=1.10 ???
    what the fnyahooey.

    SOYO SY-TISU
    Desktop PentiumŽ III processor >1 GHz (133MHz FSB)
    PentiumŽ III processor <=1 GHz (133 MHz FSB)
    PentiumŽ III processor (100 MHz FSB)
    CeleronŽ processor >= 1A GHz (100 MHz FSB)
    CeleronŽ processor <= 1.10 GHz (100 MHz FSB)

    I read through Newegg.coms website on reviews of the Soyo SY-TISU, and two
    people said they were using 1.2 and 1.3 Ghz celerons.
    I have an email into Intel MB support, phone support for Intel MB's cost $25
    pr/incident email is free if you don't mind waiting.
    Im hoping to hear back from Intel MB support about the U version of Intel
    MB, and the possibility that it may support the 1.2 Celeron.
    Anyone using this chip, and if so on what motherboard?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    The TISU is the way to go. Great board and it supports all of those.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    149
    Yes but the TISU doesnt show support for the Celeron 1.2 or higher chips.

  4. #4
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    It does with the BIOS update. Trust me - I've built two systems with it.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    149
    Thanks Bill thats what i wanted to here. Did you have to boot with a different CPU installed in order to update the BIOS?
    What BIOS did you use?

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3,922
    All the manufacturers I've ordered boards from have flashed the BIOS with the latest microcode. You should have no problem, and in the worst scenario, whip out that old coppermine 550 and give the CMOS new orders -- careful now!

    BTW an excellent board that is guaranteed to work with a celeron 1.2 is the Asus TUSL2-C. Another great one is the EPoX EP-3PTA. The 3pta can be found at www.axiontech.com.


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    149
    causticVapor,
    Thanks for the tips. Would you happen to know anything about this Intel board im having problems with? Wether or not it can support the Cel 1.2?
    I still havent heard back froim Intel tech support yet, and if i RMA the board for a refund itll cost me 15% +shipping. If i ask for an exact replacement it costs me just the shipping.
    If there is any chance that itll work id like to stick with the Intel board.
    Otherwise ill probably do the Soyo from newegg.
    I sent an email to Axiontech last week with questions about the Intel board, and never heard back. I decided to buy from Googlegear instead.
    Im not all that familiar with the Epox boards, and not to many sources have the TUSL2-C.

  8. #8
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    The trouble with the Intel boards is that the have so many revisions. You can't know what you have until you buy it.

    Any brand name i815EP motherboard will be good. The Epox is a fine piece too.
    MS MCP, MCSE

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    149
    Thanks for all your help Bill. I ordered the Soyo from newegg, and took the hit on the restocking charge at googlegear.
    Live and learn...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •