Thread: Newbie Question

Newbie Question

Hey all,

I am very new to this whole web site thing. I just purchased a domain and am very interested in setting everything up. However, at this time, I have a couple of problems that I don't think are very complicate- to anyone other than me that is

In my site, I want to have a registration page. How in the heck do you build one of them?

Also, I want to have a page that will update itself based on the registration page. In other words, the second page would go from saying "we have 5 members.... here they are in the order they joined..." - all based on the registration page.

I understand that this is probably something very easy for you guys, but, as mentioned, I am a new at this.

BTW, I am using MS Frontpape 2000 Premium and have access to all the office programs if needed.

Thanks!!

lets face it, you are suggesting that FrontPage (or any of the other office progs) will be able to create custom PHP / ASP / Perl scripts...you are really really really an in-experienced newbie...

From your question I presume you are wanting to create a member list, allowing people to log-in (not quite sure for what purpose) or join your mailing-list, both are quite complex tasks, that ensure work properly takes a lot of time and skill. I would strongly suggest you scrap your idea, sorry but it's the truth, it seems fundamently flawed.

For instance, you yourself admit you are new to this - I wouldn't attempt something like this and I built huge ASP driven sites for schools...
    You want to display everyone who joined, I don't my name up there....
    You will need to get a sendmail prog working...trust me, it took me so bloody long to figure out how, I mean I still struggle...not for the newbie at all....

I would try an find a script already done for you but first you need to find out what your host (the person who holds and displays the page) can support. Look for a CGI-BIN, ASP or PHP support and then get back to us....