Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: up-date to previous post

  1. #1
    Member gbpec7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Decatur, Al.
    Posts
    238

    up-date to previous post

    Hi All ,
    Well I have given up on tring to find a AT style board for my 766 celery and she just wants that case so I do have a 400 celery for slot 1 I can use if anyone knows where I can get an AT board that will support that processor that would be great if you could pass that info my way.

    Link for previous post HERE
    Thanks for everyones help in the last post.....asking for a board like that is a tall order.
    G

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member omega31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    So. Cal. USA
    Posts
    2,380
    Well, it's me again, gbspec7!

    Again eBay is a good place to look. http://search.ebay.com/search/search...ty=MetaEndSort

    Look for a board with the 440BX chipset, since it is more robust than the 440LX, 440EX, or 440ZX. The Soyo SY-6BB or Asus P2B-B would be good choices.

  3. #3
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    MS MCP, MCSE

  4. #4
    Member gbpec7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Decatur, Al.
    Posts
    238
    Hey Bill, you're not gonna believe this but that is the exact same case she has except it's an AT style . So I was able to show her the mini tower and got her talked into just using this ASUS P5A board with a AMD K6-3 400MHz I have here with that case . The mid tower was just a little too tall for her desk. Well thanks to all youz folks at sysopt for your help, now I can die a happy man .
    http://www.bestbyte.net/Product.cfm?...ryID=2&Keyword

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    5,910
    In the OEM market, there were. Roughly in order of appearance, PC-Chips M725, M729, M747, M726, M767, M726MRT, M757LMRT immediately spring to mind. Other OEM oriented board makers had some too, the later ones even had some sort of upgrade path, providing both slot and socket.

    regards, Peter

  6. #6
    Member gbpec7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Decatur, Al.
    Posts
    238
    Hi Peter, I bought a PCChips board from a sysopt member not too long ago, it was a M760V slot 1, but the most it would support was a celeron 333, so I sold it on ebay and bought this ASUS board thinking I could persuade her into getting a new case....hehehehe...silly me, what was I thinking! I will however go to the site and see what I can find..BTW, are these slot1 or socket 370..Thanks for the help .
    Gary
    Oh ok, they are slot 1 boards....
    Last edited by gbpec7; 09-02-2002 at 12:39 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Anniston,Al. USA
    Posts
    841
    You should have kept the M760v. It supports a lot higher than a Celly 333. I'll check and see if I have one I could sell you...
    I'm still learning 24/7

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member omega31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    So. Cal. USA
    Posts
    2,380
    Bill, what's this?

    It's a P2B-B, a slot 1 baby AT motherboard. And you can run that Celeron 400 on it.

  9. #9
    Banned Antix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    YED, Alta, Canada
    Posts
    437
    Here is another one, the Soyo SY-6BB:


  10. #10
    Member gbpec7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Decatur, Al.
    Posts
    238
    You should have kept the M760v. It supports a lot higher than a Celly 333.
    Hi MR COMPUTER,
    How will this board support a celery higher then a 333 when that's all the site says it will support ?
    Link: http://www.pcchips.com.tw/M760V.html


    Omega & Antix, where can I find the boards you speak of?
    Gary
    Last edited by gbpec7; 09-02-2002 at 03:27 PM.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member omega31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    So. Cal. USA
    Posts
    2,380
    Click the picture. It will send you to eBay.

    Or if you don't want to click the picture, here's the link sans picture:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2049989415

    Also my previous eBay link will bring up a list of slot 1 at boards at eBay.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Anniston,Al. USA
    Posts
    841
    The site is not updated on this older board. (Same with many older boards). Your Celeron 400 will run fine. Your Celeron 766, with a slot adapter should run on this board also...
    I'm still learning 24/7

  13. #13
    Member gbpec7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Decatur, Al.
    Posts
    238
    wow, you need to explain that to me.....other then a bios up-date how is it possible, it needs a multiplier of 11.5 @ 66MHz buss to work.....it only has a multiplier of 5x. How can a bios up-date make that much difference ?
    Gary

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Anniston,Al. USA
    Posts
    841
    Celerons are multiplier locked. Does not matter what you set then to in the bios. Many boards with jumpers will accept them - No matter what you set multiplier jumper to. (You can even leave them off the board!). Flashing with a newer bios will increase processor support. Its not always necessary. I have an old M747 board that reads a newer Celeron as a PIII. Still shows the correct speed and runs fine...
    I'm still learning 24/7

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    5,910
    Originally posted by gbpec7
    Hi Peter, I bought a PCChips board from a sysopt member not too long ago, it was a M760V slot 1
    If a board supports Celeron 333, it'll happily run up to Celeron-533 as well. They're all the same, except for the multiplier, but that's factory preset inside the CPU anyway. (Wasn't the 760V the mATX version and 767V the BAT one?)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •