Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: cd rom problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member TheBold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    63

    cd rom problem

    hi there

    my cd rom is not identified by the OS win98 SE

    it is recognized while booting..but not in windows,

    not listed in device manager..tried so many things,add new hardware
    it is LG CD- ROM , model CRD8521B
    checked all power and data cables all are ok.

    noting that it is in IDE2 alone not sharing data cable with hard disk.

    one more thing, the autoexec.bat file not existing in windows.

    any ideas?

    thanx in advance

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Had this once before with my sisters machine, try using another IDE cable or putting it on another IDE port for starters then report back

    --Jakk

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    37
    boot to your win98 boot disk and see if you have access to the cd-rom drive then
    or if you have no boot disk ... change the boot sequence in your bios and see if you can boot from your cd..
    William

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    The problem is because you are using DOS drives
    and so windblows will refuse to detect it for you.

    try dissabling the DOS drivers, and then reboot, and now it should detect for you.

  5. #5
    Member TheBold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    63
    Bigjakkstaffa:

    already changed the data cable and switched between IDE1 and IDE2, still no way.

    william_w30:

    i have no startup disk lost that one, and even if i change the booting sequence..i have no potable win98se cd.

    AllGamer:

    it was working fine..then suddenly canoot be seen in win98

    installed a dos driver...problem same, how can i disable the dos driver?

    in my openion..it is a problem of ide controllers..which no way to update unless by using win98 cd.

    thanx for the replies and looking for more..

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member richard_cocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,199
    I had this problem, found I was using the wrong part of the cable (ie the slave when it hsould have been the master, but it still worked in DOS for some reason )

  7. #7
    Member TheBold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    63
    richard_cocks

    sorry didnt get ur point!!!?

    thanx

  8. #8
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    make sure to check the device manager. see if there is a yellow exclamation point on the ide controller. if so,......

    go into sysedit
    edit your config.sys and autoexec.bat
    put rem in front of any line that sys cdrom or mscdex
    close sysedit and save
    reboot the system


  9. #9
    Member TheBold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    63
    there is no yellow exclamation point nor cd rom..

    autoexec.bat file does't exit.

    the config.sys contains the following:
    =============================================
    device=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\display.sys con=(ega,,1)
    Country=966,720,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\country.sys

    REM LASTDRIVE=Z
    REM DEVICEHIGH=C:\CDROM\GSCDROM.SYS /D:MSCD000 /v

    LASTDRIVE=Z
    DEVICEHIGH=C:\CDROM\GSCDROM.SYS /D:MSCD000 /v

    =========================================
    whats then?

  10. #10
    Stark Raving MOD Midknyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    22,269
    there are 2 entries for your cdrom? is that a misprint? if dos drivers are the problem, you have to kill all/any lines with cdrom or mscdex. I'm not sure that will fix the problem, but that's how you disable dos cdrom drivers.

    you don't have an autoexec? strange

    what richard was saying is to try a different connector on your ide cable. most cables have 2 connections.

    in the device manager, what does it list for hard disk controllers? you should have a primary and secondary ide controller.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    37
    I recomend doing a search for autoexec.* from the root to find it...
    also check the performance tab in system properties to see if it running in MS-dos compatibility mode at all..
    get a bootable disk for your cd-rom and attempt to boot from it... or if you supply your e-mail add I'll e-mail the files to you
    William

  12. #12
    Member TheBold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    63
    hi there

    there is no misprint in that config.sys
    there is no autoexec.bat file in my pc root.

    checked all cables conditions and settings..no problem.

    the cdrom is not shown in the performance tab in system properties .

    there is no bootable disk for that cdrom..it is PNP.

    any clues?

    thanx

  13. #13
    Member TheBold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    ksa
    Posts
    63
    thanx for everybody..

    i downloaded a startup disk and booted the machine and installed win over the old one.

    it worked..now everything all right.


  14. #14
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    18,631
    Glad to hear it (Despite my lack of replies i have been keepign an eye on this thread - honest)

    Well - happy ... computing

    --Jakk

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member AllGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    16,305
    See.. I told you it was the DOS Drivers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •