Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Roiuters or Switches or something

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    15

    Roiuters or Switches or something

    Greetings!

    Iím generally familiar with the idea behind Internet Connection Sharing, but Iím not too excited about the idea of having to leave a computer turned on all the time, or at least whenever one of the other computers on the network wants to use the internet.

    Is there a hardware only solution that works like ICS? A router or something, perhaps, that would allow multiple computers to share a single Internet connection without having to have the ďserverĒ computer turned on?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    A cable/DSL router is what you need. All major networking manufacturers make them. The most popular here is the Linksys BEFSR41:

    http://www.us.buy.com/retail/product...235958&loc=101
    MS MCP, MCSE

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    15
    Originally posted by BipolarBill
    A cable/DSL router is what you need. All major networking manufacturers make them. The most popular here is the Linksys BEFSR41:

    http://www.us.buy.com/retail/product...235958&loc=101
    So, this kind of router would allow multiple compuers to use the same internet connectoin, just by pluggint them in to it? Would it also allow, say, an Xbox to use it?

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1,708
    Originally posted by Akin


    So, this kind of router would allow multiple compuers to use the same internet connectoin, just by pluggint them in to it? Would it also allow, say, an Xbox to use it?
    Yes. The BEFSR41 has four ports. Linksys also makes an 8-port model. Your one IP address from the provider is translated by the router, which assigns as many IP addresses (to your local network) as you have ports. Don't know anything about X-Boxes, but if all it needs is an IP address, then it should work fine.
    jmichna

    PS: I've been using a BEFSR41 for about 18 months, easy to setup & configure, no problems since day one, easy to U/G firmware, too. Think they cost less than about $80US now-a-days.

  5. #5
    Member arkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hot Springs, AR
    Posts
    358
    Originally posted by Akin


    So, this kind of router would allow multiple compuers to use the same internet connectoin, just by pluggint them in to it?

    I took my BEFSR41 out of the box, plugged in the power, push the reset button, plugged in the cables from the cable modem and the two computers. Fired up the two computers and both came up online. No configuration of any kind.
    That's the way I like it.

    And yes, you don't have to run both computers.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    15
    Sounds great guys, thanks for the info

    Is this the same thing with eight ports? I can already fill up four, might as well allow for "future growth"

    http://www.us.buy.com/retail/product...queryType=comp

    It also looks like this sort of gizmo may remove the need for the ZoneAlarm firewall? Does anyone know if it is as good or better in protectring your system?

    Thanks...
    Last edited by Akin; 04-29-2002 at 03:19 PM.

  7. #7
    Member arkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hot Springs, AR
    Posts
    358
    You still need ZoneAlarm to protect what your computer sends out. A router only stops the inbound.

  8. #8
    Extreme Member! BipolarBill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Norton Noo Joisey
    Posts
    41,522
    You can go for the 8-port job is you like or use an 8-port hub connected to a 4-port router. There's lot's of flexibility there.

    As Arkie has said, the router can't prevent a trojan or worm from sending out data. As a matter of fact, a really skilled hacker can get through a router. I would recommend a "backup plan" - a software firewall.
    MS MCP, MCSE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •