dcsimg
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: running dual processors

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    wheaton ILL
    Posts
    16

    running dual processors

    hello
    looking at www.499pc.com's Dualie system. I am looking for a reference book/source for how to best use dual processor systems. the benefits/drawbacks etc just more info
    thanks fred

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member cyclone2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    London Ont. Canada
    Posts
    1,047
    Try here for a good site

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    wheaton ILL
    Posts
    16
    thanks to cyclone2 looks like a good place to start and finish!

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member cyclone2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    London Ont. Canada
    Posts
    1,047
    You are welcome
    I also have a dually board but I'm just running on 1 celeron at the moment

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY 40207
    Posts
    41
    Hahaha What the deal, cyclone?

    I dont see a site, do you?

    IH

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member cyclone2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    London Ont. Canada
    Posts
    1,047
    Hahaha IronHawk. lesson to be learned

    Try Here for a good site

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    wheaton ILL
    Posts
    16
    anyone know where to find this answer.
    the dual setup sold by www.499pc.com has two 1900 palomino processors. I assume these must be XP as AMD doesn't seem to make an 1900 MP processor.
    the question does the XP palomino support dual processors?
    should this be a new thread? the seller claims to have tested the system.

  8. #8
    Member SEALTEAMTHREE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pensicola Naval Air Station, Florida
    Posts
    305
    The XP does not support multiple processors, you're probably thinking about the AMD MP Palomino 1900+ (which AMD does make). The XP is a side variant of the MP that doesn't support multiple processors but does have 8 new instruction lines for windows media player XP. Its also slated to run against the P4 in the clockspeed wars; an XP 1600+ is only a 1.33 GHz core but it runs at the same throughput level as a P4 1.6 GHz. In all reality, you'd be better off buying a thunderbird 1.4. A multiple processor system is only useful if you're going to be running a server. Just because you have two CPUs doesn't mean you have two times the clockspeed. They run seperately; 1 CPU can be set to run windows and all other background apps, while the other can be left to run your games or whatever other processor-intensive program you're running

  9. #9
    Member jbell255's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ames, Iowa
    Posts
    197
    Actually.... an Athlon XP 1600+ runs at 1.4 GHz

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    wheaton ILL
    Posts
    16
    thanks to sealteamthree
    It is exactly the idea that i can use one processor for a "game " while doing other windows "stuff" that has me looking at dual processing. I realise it may sound dumb but I am looking for a good reference which explains just that process.
    thanks for clearing up the question about the palomino!
    Cyclone2's "Here" site (which I found with the mouse) has provided a wealth of info which I am still digging through.
    I think probably a straight foreward amd 1900 or p4 2.0
    PC would suit my needs especially with a great video card, but as my other vice is playing with PC's my interest is currently focused.
    My 3D game is www.computrainer.com trainer for bicycles my other vice. the program is probably not too intense but is about to grow too big for my trusty old 3dfx voodoo card. I will need to upgrade and as I am still using a amdk6-3+450 its probably reaching the end of its compatibility with geforce 3 and radeon 8500 as the tops
    i have visions of getting my winter exercise, and computing all at once.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    193
    The first thing you should do is check out if you OS supports
    more than processor, as it is throwing money out the window
    to buy 2 prosessors if it doesen`t.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •