dcsimg
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What's the best CPU for video editing

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    31

    What's the best CPU for video editing

    Ok so I'm want to set up a system to edit video. Have been going thourhg long discussions about the pro's an con's of curon, athalon and p4's.
    I would like to spend as little as possible but also not have ot upgrade almost immediatly.
    Also please be aware that I have been swotting like mad on this subject but still knwo very little so please feel free to use small easlily recognised words and talk to me like a 4 year old.
    honestly I am desparate to make a choice and get on with editing.

    Curretnly I inted ot use premiere 5 or 6
    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX USA
    Posts
    627
    The problem with Athlon is that it burns extremely hot - making it more suceptable to freezes, system locks, etc....


    GO PENTIUM 4 MAN!

    Best for digital editing.



    Michael

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    31
    Any particular brand preference?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    31
    How fast should i be looking at? Is there a huge difference between 1.4 and say 1.5?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    31
    ECS P4ITA-2 RETAIL BOX 3YR Warranty w/Sound 4Rimm DMA 100 P4ITA2 5P1CNRxAgp ATX INSTOCK with cpu - PentiumŪ 4 1.5GHz 423PIN 1500Mhz w/ Heatsink & Fan In Stock $ 236 $12-$15 10/7/2001 4:08:27 PM CT BZBOYZ.com877-429-2699562-997-0992-- P.O.'s acceptedOnline Ordering CA BZBP# P4ITA1500

    This is the one I like but when i checked for the RAM at crucial.com they didn't stock it and thought it may be proprietry, would this be an issue?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Socorro, NM, USA
    Posts
    229
    Intel, for stability reasons. Most software is written for & on Intel processors, including Windows in its many forms.

    1.4, 1.5 - no major difference. Processors that run this fast spend most of their time idling, waiting for the memory and system bus to catch up. A 1.5 will just idle faster for slightly longer periods of time.

    Don't believe the motherboard manufacturers when they say you can run 4 - 256 Meg RAM sticks in their MB. Yes, you can run 4 sticks of RAM. Yes, you can run 256 Meg RAM sticks. But if you put 256 Meg RAM sticks in all four slots, the RAM will load down the circuits on the motherboard, and the RAM won't work reliably, and the system will crash.

    If you need 512 megs, get a motherboard that says it can handle 1024. Or use "Registered" RAM, which has circuits that get around this problem. The motherboard must be designed and built to handle it.

    Proprietary RAM - trouble. You WILL get it from 1 source, and you WILL pay their price - if they have it, they may stop selling it. Get common, mainstream stuff.

    I bought an Abit BP6 dual processor motherboard two years ago. Other stuff came up, this project went on the shelf. When I started buying parts to finish it 6 months ago - no ATA 33 drives anywhere, got the last matched pair of 533 Celerons out there. Computer stuff is outdated within a year. Don't make it worse by buying off-brand proprietary stuff.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    205
    Get a PowerMac, they are the professionals choice for video editing. They cost more but are bullet proof and always 100% compatible as Apple makes both the system and the software. They are RISC processors and run very cool. Look downtown at the graphic artists studios and ask what they use.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    31
    We have macs here but i am strictly a PC girl myself. For larger projects we edit on Avids (beta testing decks actually) they are all PC

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    122

    upz

    Pure looking at CPU: Pentium 4
    But you know the problem with the board. Those RIMM are losing. Look for boards with P4x266 chipset. No need to explain, just look for this in the specifications. I only can think of "Shuttle AV40R" mobo at this moment (They risked a possible intel lawsuit). But it will be the (nearby) future. I think other mobo manufactures will follow soon.

  10. #10
    Member Dokeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Athens, Ga. 30606
    Posts
    214
    the reason you didnt see any memory on crucial is because the only do SDRAM nd DDR. That means to RIMM's or RDRAM modules. One of crucials few downfalls

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Cupertino,CA
    Posts
    51
    New chip on the block! SIS 645. You can read about it here:http://www.anandtech.com/chipsets/showdoc.html?i=1541

    Pros: Intel licensed, supports ddr333 sdram, cheap.
    Cons: No boards available yet, Intel 845-D in Q1, 2002.

    Here's a observation on sis and via chips. Is it me or does ECS seem to always be the first ones with a new chip? Also, the online stores located in SO. CALIF. seem to have really good ties to the far east. They seem to stock new boards within a couple of weeks of release. It might be worth it to call up some of them and ask about availability.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •