Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: Advice for a new gal...

Advice for a new gal...

I am pretty new to this, so please be patient with my ignorance . I am looking into building my own computer, primarily for gaming. It sounds like a neat thing to do, rather than buying a pre-made one, so I have been trying learn by reading a lot of stuff. I was looking at some magazines that provided models for building the "ultimate gaming system" and the like. My question is, are these good models to look at when putting my own system together? Or, does anyone have any advice or information on how to guide me or what I should be looking at to model after? Thanks in advance for the help

You can look at those, but sometimes they go to extremes. You wont need near what some of those recommend to play every game acceptably. I would concentrate on proven stable performers. For example, a good Athlon DDR board, (Epox 8K7A), good RAM (say 2 sticks of 256 mb Crucial PC2100), good video card (I'm not getting into this one), and of course a decent processor. You could probably sacrifice processor speed before you sacrificed video card speed.

Ultimate Member
    It all depends on how much you want to spend. IMO this is what you want to get.

-Geforce2PRO (Geforce3's features won't be needed for some time no reason to waste money now)
    -Epox 8K7A+ mobo(Has yet to crash ONCE on me)
    -1GHz or higher AMD Bird (1.4GHz seems to be a sweet spot now with the price drops)
    -Good Heatsink/fan for CPU
    -256 memory (memory is so cheap now)
    -SB Live (Any decent sound card might do though)
    -19 inch monitor (Highly recommend Samsung SyncMaster 955DF)
    -30 GB or higher HD (recommend IBM)
    -Klipsh 2.1 speakers
    -12X burner (Plextor or TDK, same drive)
    -16X DVD Pioneer

I agree with Camaro and Rhino...

Sacrifice CPU speed before video (eg a Duron 800Mhz would do fine for now and is easilly and cheaply upgradable - but the 1400's seem like a pretty sweet deal).