dcsimg
Page 1 of 71 1 2 3 4 5 11 51 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 1057

Thread: Clocking is good???

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    6

    Clocking is good???

    Imagine you have a hamster in a little running wheel. Suppose that wheel has a motor on it. You can make the wheel spin a little faster than the hamster is running, and he will keep up for a little while, but soon he will no be able to and he will go "thump, thum, thum" around the wheel like a tennins shoe in a dryer. The same is true with your processor. Overclock that bad boy, and then you will have to call me, Mr. A+ Cert. to come tell you "Well, you nuked your CPU, buy another one!"

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Jasper, Ga
    Posts
    2,323
    by the time that happens, it will be time to get a new cpu anyways.....so...and some chips can handle a little overclocking..isnt it true that all p3's were basically 600 that couldnt handle it to their standards? Im not worried about umping my 450 up to 500...but then again i may have smoke from my case tomorrow

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    lakeside Ca. u.s.a.
    Posts
    2,125
    neener neener neener mine is faster than yours lol lmao lol

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Jasper, Ga
    Posts
    2,323
    thats fine how much ram ya got ? huh huh??
    I got 224 so :PPPPPPPPPPP

    so "neener neener" to you

    I **** in your general direction

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Jasper, Ga
    Posts
    2,323
    and why are we putting motors on hamster wheels again?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    919
    I dunno, I just have cats...

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    2,122
    Say the shop you got it from tested your hamster and found it would run at 20mph so, to avoid warrentee returns, they rate it at 10mph. You decide to run your hamster at 16mph and supply some extra water, food, etc., what's the harm? I love my overclocked hamaster. He's running at 20mph with a heatsink straped to his forehead. Going to upgrade to peltier.

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member AuraEdge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    3,354
    The last Hamster whos head I tryed to strap metal to bit me..I hope it wasnt rabid
    lol
    seriously how ya gunna compare hampsters to hard silicon chips?


  9. #9
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    lakeside Ca. u.s.a.
    Posts
    2,125
    I still say neener neener neener mine runs faster than yours does lol lmao lol

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member AuraEdge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    3,354
    Yer hampster or your CPU? Cuz if its yer hampster, id like to trade u for it

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    87
    My question is where does the teemp. probe go?:X!!!!lol

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    lakeside Ca. u.s.a.
    Posts
    2,125
    well i use a rectal probe for 2 reasions
    #1 gives best temp
    #2 makes him run faster lol
    oh and what ya got to trade couse i need more memery lol


    [This message has been edited by scotter (edited 11-05-1999).]

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Detroit Michigan USA
    Posts
    321
    Mr A+ certified? I've got my A+ too dude, stop acting like your big and bad ahaha. Overclocking at decent rates is perfectly fine, its not like your gonna use your processor over 2 years anyway (unless your a dumb ***)

  14. #14
    Middle Age Member
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    3,295
    Edited because I sounded too rude.

    BTW - overclocking is fun!

    [This message has been edited by CMonster (edited 12-14-2000).]

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Warren, Mi, USA
    Posts
    1,071
    and if you think upping your processor 50mhz is bad, go to www.kryotech.com. Maybe A+ guy might wanna go there are complain to them also.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •