dcsimg
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: K6 2 500 Vs K6 2+ 450

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Washington St.
    Posts
    599

    K6 2 500 Vs K6 2+ 450

    I've read on the internet where people have got the K6-2 Plus 450 to overclock to 650MHz (one got 672). Several people have got 622MHz without any problems at all. The 450 K6-2+ has a L2 128MB Cache. I want to get a 500MHz, but the "slower" 450 + has better performance. I don't want to overclock mine, just run it at the stock speed. Will the 450 Plus run at 450, give better performance then the 500, run at 500MHz? I have a 1MB on Board Cache, with the added 128MB L2 on the 450, that will give me 228MB total cache! Will that be better then getting the 500MHZ? I have a hard time buying a processor that's "slower" then what's the fastest I can upgrade to. Thank you, Chris.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Castro Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    725
    DON'T get a K6-2 500! A K6-2+ 450 will easily beat a regular K6-2 500 in practically every application. That on-die 128MB L2 cache makes all the difference. As an added bonus, nearly all of the + CPUs can hit 550MHz. Some folks here have theirs running at 600 and above.

    I upgraded a computer from a regular K6-2 450 to a K6-2+ 450 @ 550 and everything seems soooo much more responsive. You can get them at www.tigerdirect.com. For about $35, they're a steal.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    5,910
    Folks, it's 128 KILObytes of L2 cache.

    Apart from that, the 2+/450 is faster than a 2/500 at almost anything.

    regards, Peter

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Sask., Canada
    Posts
    772
    128MB cache...now that would be one bigass cpu! Yes the + series are better chips all around. My K6-3+/450 runs happily at 600 with standard cooling and no heat problems.

    The 3+'s are near impossible to get anymore and if you find one they are way over priced.
    Go with the 2+, the only difference is the cache. 3+ has 256K, 2+ has 128K. Don't worry about overclocking it a bit, just keep it sensible and dont go over 2.1v.

    Check out the link, the benchmark link on the site shows what some have taken these chips to. http://k6plus.50megs.com/

    Read about cache here: http://pub70.ezboard.com/fk6plus6715...picID=32.topic


    [This message has been edited by shadow (edited 07-20-2001).]

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Washington St.
    Posts
    599
    Thanks Peter for the typo on the cache size. Looks like I'll be getting the 450 K6-2+. I guess after seeing if it will run right in my board at 450, after a wile I will bump it up to 550. I'll be scared when I do it though. Thanks, Chris.
    P.S. I traval next week to a city where I can get one in person for $45. How long did it take to get from Tigerdirect? How much did they charge for shipping? I live in the North West.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    137
    I replaced my k6-2 500 with a 475 plus which I installed at 500mhz, kinda for a comparison. And it smoked the old 500. That plus is now running at 550 with 2.0v and no problems. Just standard cooling and it runs cooler than the old 500 ever did.........and its **** hot in this room in the summer.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Castro Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    725
    Whooops.... thanks for catching my typo Peter!

    I've never bought from tigerdirect, but I think they charge something like $9 for the shipping.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    OREGON TRAIL
    Posts
    89
    edtrip: Is that 475 a 2+ or 3+? Tiger Direct? Thanks

    [This message has been edited by xroyal (edited 07-22-2001).]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •