dcsimg
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: New PSU-PC not starting. CPU-power-adapter

  1. #16
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    Capacitor seems not charged-cannot hold Cmos-data

    Maybe i must run PC for 10 hours? or can i only leave only switch on after pc-shut-down? is that enough to charge capacitor since it cannot hold cmos-data. fresh battery. PC was ON for at least 6 hrs. didnt help.
    maybe best replacing battery-holder. maybe soldering not perfect enough
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  2. #17
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655
    Left powerswitch on-standby. normal booting.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  3. #18
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    small steps with great success

    As you know i am writing about my adventures with my two old PCs which refused working over 5 weeks ago.
    1. Gigabyte Ga-7N400 Pro 2. Winxp
    2. Asrock Alive Dual eSata2. Winxp and Win7-63
    Both have Sata and IDE.
    the IDE 320gb-drive from GA-PC which was not recognized anymore after an external power-shut-down(by an Idiot) was recognized on Asrock but hanged during boot.

    3. GA-PC now is holding Cmos-data when PSU is shut down but cable not removed. most probably capacitor(s) is now revived and charged.

    Next task is reviving the IDE-320gb- drive on GA by flashing BIOS. Was succesful earlier with this method. But i will no use default last Bios but a newly programmed one.There is a big discussion about bad BIOS-since SATA-drives are not recognized anymore -. flashtool had also been replaced beside new Bios(two versions).
    I am working now on newer PC since navigating on internet is slow/Firefox is slow on old PC. Will prepare micro-SD-adapter as Flashstick. SDformatter 5.0(avoid earlier version 4) is needed to format and unlock. further instructions google BIOS-flashing.
    I will discuss flashing in Gigabyte-forum.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  4. #19
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655
    GA-7N400 Pro2 seems to have regenerated capacitors now. i could form them. cmos-content will be stored if cable is not removed only psu shut down.
    Asrock aLive Dual eSata 2 seems to have defective capacitors. or partly alive. will no do experiments with working MOBO. maybe will build up second one.
    On GA the problem is accessing Sata-drives. Discussion elsewhere about badly programmed BIOS and wrong flashtool. I have improved Bios versions and right flashtool but i will leave it alone.
    Both are unviersal SATA-IDE-MOBOs. incl. Raid.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  5. #20
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    capacitors with bulging tops

    giving away for free sind capcitors are dying- tops not flat..... from an ad:
    "Verschenke ein ALiveDual-eSata2 von Asrock. Das Board funktioniert, hat aber Kondensatoren mit gewölbten Deckeln, deswegen wird es verschenkt."
    -------------
    https://www.geeksinphoenix.com/blog/...apacitors.aspx
    I will ask a friend to replaced all identical capacitors on one of my additional MOBOS and setup a third PC. i counted about 20. they have + and - poles.
    Last edited by europanorama; 08-04-2018 at 05:35 AM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  6. #21
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    replacing capacitors-how to do

    i will not DIM. but let it be done by a solding expert.
    https://www.instructables.com/id/How...-motherboards/
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  7. #22
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655
    i opened also a thread about the same in Gigabyte-forum relating to sysopt
    https://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index....3054#msg113054
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  8. #23
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    Wonder happened: Could shut down PSU without having to enter Cmos to adjust settings

    After a normal start in the morning sometimes hdd cannot boot, is hanging right at start. shut down and restart normally help. this time i shut down PSU- and after 5 seconds restarted. And could boot normall. What a surprise-for the first time after the repair! It seems patience is giving Luck.
    Beforehand i always had to enter cmos to adjust settings. remember: its on the newer ASROCK AliveDual eSata2. on much older(2004, yes actually the very first copy is installed)Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro 2 i could form capacitors to allow shutter down PSU. We will see when i control after some time.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  9. #24
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655
    PSU in standby after restart after a certain long time: pc/harddrive is hanging. Reset is solving the problem.
    hope i can setup a new identical MOBO with all capacitors replaced!
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  10. #25
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    sometimes PC is not starting or i will not see systemstart

    wierd is sometimes pc-start is not visible onscreen. Maybe time to replace 27" samsung-screen.
    since sometimes i must push-pull screen button to make image visible during start.
    last time i made a reset and pc made a systemrepair. i allowed systemrecovery(systemwiederherstellung).
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

  11. #26
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Basel-Switzerland
    Posts
    3,655

    Cold soldering points the reason for MOBO_Blackouts!

    I must shorten a bit my tragedy with one of the two mainboard-system Winxp and Winxp/Win7-MOBOs.
    On Ga-7N400 Pro2 i couldnt make my sata-drives run again. didnt know how to do and didnt know if on my first GA-MOBO(have multiples) sata is also defective like onboard-lan and pci-slots.
    first the electrician killed one of my two ide-drives. and i myself made the only one not running anymore. its on a loop during start. first it said system-file is damaged or similar. Winxp Windows\system32\config\system
    doesnt it have an ending? in need i tried to copy the system.save-file ending removed. without success. later when sata-drive on second perfectly running again-duplicate-MOBO was working i tried to attach as second drive to make it running again. earlier i succeeded with that technique. but not in this situation. iots a software-problems. any idea?
    2. Later when i was at dead end i switched the board but it didnt start!
    then i remembered the idea of replacing poor capacitors(see old thread about delivery of bad material around 2004 just when i bought it.
    since no new capacitors around the only cure could be resoldering the capacitors and the three electric soils. cannot upload images.
    Before swithing MOBO i resoldered then and removed battery(for 30 seconds. not one word in manual when cmos clear is needed.
    only could now run my sata-drives. which i had to clean and cure for stable running. I am actually on chrome. firefox 48 is the latest running with non-sse 2 processor but its crashing all the time so i had to switch browser.
    when situation is better i will come again and open a new thread since new findings all around the universal sata-ide- Raid-Boards.
    Last edited by europanorama; 11-27-2018 at 08:31 PM.
    www.stereopan.tk
    underreconstruction
    3Daeropanorama
    was: 3DMarspanoramas
    3DVideos
    www.3dmedia.ch
    www.3dmusic.ch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •