Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: I can't get my PC to sleep mode any more!

Hybrid View

Smile I can't get my PC to sleep mode any more!

Hello group- newbie here.

I am using Windows 7, and I think that when I did a Windows Update something went wrong and my ability to let the computer go to sleep was wiped out.

I've been searching in google for a solution and tried a couple things to no avail.

I go into Control Panel, systems settings, power options and now it just gives me an interval when to shut down the computer, nothing about "sleep".

I used to have it so that it would automatically go to sleep after a few minutes, then all I'd need to do is come back and move my mouse and it would wake up.

Now I've been getting by just shutting down, but that is pretty inconvenient if I need to get right back on.

My PC is a Dell, so I went to their site and did a diagnostic and it indicated that my driver was outdated and needed an update. They did it while I waited (took about 15 minutes to run their diagnostic program). Then I rebooted and went in to control panel and still the system won't go to sleep.

I am considering throwing up my hands and just going for Windows 10, perhaps that is the solution?? I thought I'd try in here.

Thanks for listening!!

Lifetime Friend of Staff
    Did you scan for malware.?

Thank you I tried methods #1 and #2, method #3 is a little daunting to me, I am not sure of startup programs, etc.

If you'd rather not use the command line, scroll down a bit in "Method #3" and start where it says "You can also prevent the devices from waking a Windows 7 computer using Device Manager.".

Thanks Spyware Dr- I tried method 3 using the device manager. However, that didn't help my issue.

Sorry to hear that; it worked here. Hopefully someone else with some other ideas to try will be along soon.

I go into Control Panel, systems settings, power options and now it just gives me an interval when to shut down the computer, nothing about "sleep".